Motivation logo

Vocal: My Path to Redemption

Who am I?

By J. S. WadePublished 3 years ago Updated 5 months ago 3 min read
Top Story - August 2021
44

Who am I? (Herbert Kretzmer, Les Miserable')

Can I conceal myself forevermore?

Pretend I'm not the man I was before?

And must my name until I die,

Be no more than an alibi,

Must I lie?

How can I ever face my fellow men

How can I ever face myself again

My soul belongs to God I know,

I made that bargain long ago

He gave me hope when hope was gone

He gave me strength to journey on

Who am I?

Who am I?

I'm Jon Scott Wade

And so Javert, you see it's true

That man bears no more guilt than you

Who am I... 24601!

Guilty of the passion to create has been a root of my existence since a child. My first excursions were in the world of music, where I performed Christmas Carols for a quarter at my many Great Aunt's bidding. Through school and church, I honed my skills and succeeded in being awarded All-State Chorus status and a college scholarship.

I graduated concurrently with a B.A. in Music and a B.S. in Physical Education from Charleston Southern University, S.C. A jack of many trades, I taught music, coached football and track for years and earned a Masters in Music (Wake Forest) before economics pushed me into the business world.

While working on my Masters, I was privileged to be a Conductor's assistant with N.C. State Symphony. The meticulous work of marking orchestral scores for the Maestro was rewarded by Conducting rehearsals and the performance of Shostakovich Symphony No. 5.

I love the theater and became a regional Musical Director to lead works such as Joseph's Amazing Color Dreamcoat, Fiddler on the Roof, Sound of Music, Oliver, Jesus Christ Superstar, to name a few. For me, a pinnacle moment was when the theater produced two of my musical works, Christmas of ‘41 and Sleeping Beauty (for Children's theater.)

Though successful in my chosen field the economic needs to raise a family outweighed the arts. I moved into Automotive Retail and rose in management to the General Manager of an import dealership within eight years.

Over the years, though with limited time, I have remained involved in the music with individual students and assist with musical productions on a contract basis.

****

I have two children, a son and a daughter, who represent my proudest achievement in life. My son, I lost in a tragedy in 2018 at the age of 20. My daughter is the focal point of my life as she manages her path into this world.

Why do I write? After my son died, I lost my music. The language of emotions that channel from the mind and heart to radiate music to the world overwhelmed me. I found myself lost. The need to create became trapped within my soul until I discovered the beauty of words.

A friend recommended that I journal, and I found an outlet of peace in writing. I signed up for classes through Gotham City Writers and found a mentor and friend in Jaime Karnes, an author and professor from Rutger's University. Then came Vocal.

Writing, much like music, allows a broad structure with a wide path to create and explore. I am a mere student and seek to master the art forms to express myself within and to the world. The new friends, experiences, and the platform of Vocal are a stepping stone to my redemption as a citizen of the creator community through writing.

****

I am grateful that Vocal exists and for all the fellow creators who guide, help, and assist me on this journey. The platform through challenges and community has saved me in many ways.

The cathartic healing has started from within, and each word is a salve to my passion for creating art. Like Victor Hugo's Jean Valjean, I seek to finalize my place in this world by making it a better place for all one step at a time.

How can I ever face my fellow men

How can I ever face myself again

My soul belongs to God I know,

I made that bargain long ago

He gave me hope when hope was gone

He gave me strength to journey on

Who am I?

Who am I?

I'm Jon Scott Wade, Vocal Creator

healing
44

About the Creator

J. S. Wade

Since reading Tolkien in Middle school, I have been fascinated with creating, reading, and hearing art through story’s and music. I am a perpetual student of writing and life.

J. S. Wade owns all work contained here.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • Cathy holmes5 months ago

    This is wonderful. I'm glad I found this through Kelli's poem. And I'm glad you're a Vocal creator. Well done

  • It's catharsis and peace for me, as well.

  • beautiful writing. im glad you find peace in it, like I do

  • Wow Scott, so many pieces that make up a person. You are an inspiration! Congrats on the top story and thank you for being so transparent and open.

  • I'm so sorry for your loss 🥺

  • Babs Iverson2 years ago

    Wonderfully told!!👏💖💕

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.