Motivation logo

Trust Your Instinct

Don't Doubt Yourself

By Jen AuhPublished about a year ago 3 min read
1
Trust Your Instinct
Photo by Giu Vicente on Unsplash

Trusting your instinct can be a difficult task for many people, especially when faced with important decisions. Second-guessing yourself can be a natural tendency, but sometimes it can lead to missed opportunities or even harmful situations. It is essential to trust your gut feelings and instincts, and not doubt yourself.

Often, we make judgments based on our first impressions of people, and our instincts can be an accurate reflection of their true nature. However, we may ignore these instincts because of societal expectations or our desire to give people the benefit of the doubt. But, more often than not, our initial instincts prove to be right, and we pay the price for ignoring them.

One such incident happened to me when I worked with a client who had a history of being abusive towards his employees. During the initial meetings, I had a feeling that something was not quite right with him. However, I chose to ignore my instincts and worked with him. It was only when I saw him yell and curse at one of his employees for a minor mistake that I realized I had made a mistake.

The incident left me feeling uneasy, and I realized that my instincts were trying to warn me about the client's true nature. I ended the contract with him, and that was when things took a turn for the worse. He refused to return the equipment that I had rented for his use, and it has been more than 30 days now that I am trying to get them back.

This experience taught me the importance of trusting my instincts and not second-guessing myself. If I had listened to my gut feeling, I would have avoided this situation altogether. It also reminded me that sometimes, people's true nature may not be evident right away. We need to pay attention to our instincts and be patient when evaluating others.

Trusting our instincts is especially important when it comes to choosing the people we surround ourselves with. Our inner circle should consist of people who bring out the best in us, who are positive, supportive, and trustworthy. People who consistently make us feel uneasy or uncomfortable should be avoided, even if we cannot explain why we feel that way.

We may be tempted to ignore our instincts and give these people the benefit of the doubt, but doing so can be detrimental to our mental and emotional well-being. Toxic relationships can drain us of our energy and leave us feeling unhappy and unfulfilled.

Trusting our instincts is not always easy, especially in situations where we are not sure of the outcome. It can be tempting to second-guess ourselves, to doubt our abilities and decisions. However, trusting our instincts is crucial for personal growth and development.

One way to hone our instincts is to practice mindfulness. Mindfulness is the practice of being present in the moment and paying attention to our thoughts, feelings, and surroundings. When we are mindful, we are more aware of our instincts and can better evaluate them.

Another way to develop our intuition is to pay attention to our physical responses to situations and people. Our body often responds to stimuli before our brain has a chance to process the information consciously. If we notice a knot in our stomach or a racing heartbeat, for example, it may be a sign that our instincts are telling us something important.

Finally, we can also learn to trust our instincts by reflecting on past experiences where we have ignored or followed them. By analyzing these situations, we can better understand our instincts and learn to trust them more effectively in the future.

So, trusting our instincts is a vital skill that can help us navigate life's complexities and make better decisions. We should pay attention to our gut feelings, especially when it comes to choosing the people we surround ourselves with.

By developing our intuition through mindfulness, paying attention to our physical responses, and reflecting on past experiences, we can learn to trust our instincts more effectively and avoid the pitfalls of doubt and second-guessing.

Remember, sometimes, the best thing we can do is trust our gut and let it guide us.

successself helphow togoalsadvice
1

About the Creator

Jen Auh

I'm a founder of STYiLES, a bestselling author, a creative director and an image consultant with 20+ years of experience in the beauty/fashion industries. I share my expertise to help others thrive. Learn more at www.jenauh.com.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.