Motivation logo

Toastmasters Table Topics #2

What is your biggest fear associated with public speaking?

By tarun bhattPublished 9 months ago 3 min read
Like
Toastmasters Table Topics #2
Photo by Will Kell on Unsplash

I have written about the significance of public speaking in the past. Our club is about to hold a table topic competition soon. Hence, I started an initiative to create a collection of all table topics via stories. Yesterday, I wrote my first story as part of this initiative.

Table Topics

In Toastmasters, "Table Topics" is a segment where participants deliver an impromptu speech. Table Topics aims to help members improve their ability to think independently. It teaches them to organize their thoughts quickly. Speakers learn to provide coherent and concise speeches without prior preparation. It's a valuable exercise for developing spontaneous speaking skills. Something very useful in formal presentations and everyday conversations.

What's the topic?

During a meeting last week, I was the Table Topic master. I talked about the responsibilities of a table topics master in my previous article.

The topic I gave the member to speak on was:

What is your biggest fear associated with public speaking?

I am writing my version of the speech. It's different from what the actual speaker spoke. It will help me prepare for the table topic contest in the coming months.

Create a ritual!

I follow a ritual whenever I get to speak during a meeting. The routine helps me to compose myself. It gives me a sense of satisfaction that things are in control.

I will walk confidently to the podium and thank the table topics master for the opportunity. I will repeat the question to buy some thinking time. I mustn't look at my feet while thinking, as it does not give positive vibes to the audience. Instead, I scan through the audience to form connections and look for spots of comfort. I needed to connect with a personal story for the most impact.

Speech Delivery

My speech goes as follows:

Although I suffer from social anxiety, speaking in front of a crowd has never been a problem. I may not be the best public speaker in the world, but I never feared failure on the stage. All changed on an eventful day during a humor speech contest in 2018. My speech was thorough and well-prepared.

After delivering the first two sentences of my speech, I choked. I forgot everything. I knew, I had messed up.

I apologized and started walking back. My club president, a wonderful lady, stopped me in the middle. She pointed me toward the printout of my speech and urged me to read it word by word. I finished my speech eventually.

I spoke more than the cut-off time, hence the judges disqualified me. I am my worst enemy and was furious at myself. How could I let it happen?

That day could have been my last as a public speaker if it was not for my club president. Hence, to answer this question, my biggest fear of public speaking is choking.

I never choked ever since, but this fear helps me as well. It motivates me to stay grounded and enjoy the process of learning.

Conclusion

I structured my speech to motivate others to be comfortable with their inhibitions. I was talking about a negative experience; hence, I needed to be very careful. My speech could scare people away from public speaking. Thus, I touched on the gesture my club prescient showed that day to end in a positive tone.

I have seen club members standing for each other many times. It's this sense of support that makes this organization successful.

I plan to fine-tune the recording of this speech and upload it later. Until I decide to write on another table topic, Thank You.

Thanks

Tarun

successself helphow togoalsadvice
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.