Motivation logo

The World Needs More Diversity — How I’m Planning to Change

I’m bored of you, but I’m one of you. I’ll break the wheel. Are you in?

By Giorgos PantsiosPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
The World Needs More Diversity — How I’m Planning to Change
Photo by Sharon McCutcheon on Unsplash

For a guy that writes about change for the world, I’m sure not acting like I’m about to change that world. We need more diversity, different colored pens. I’m planning to change that, as I gained my self-respect back.

I checked my tags the other day, and they are repetitive.

I am a polymath, a philosopher, but I sure don't act like one. I got caught up writing for the same things over and over. Writing tips that are important, but they offer no sentimental value to me.

To change me, to be the actual diversity that the world needs, I need planning.

My life is about to see a major tune-up, but I need to carefully create a strategy to make my dreams come true.

Hold on while I break down 4 ways that will change me to become the diversity I want to see in the world.

The Planning of a Schedule

It’s vital to have a schedule when you are about to change. It will make the transition easier to digest and will increase your productivity as well.

What schedule does a diverse person have?

Think of it as a workout plan. Every Monday is your leg day, Tuesday your chest day, etc.

Well, for me it will be different topics to cover.

I’ve made a plan, which I’m not gonna follow religiously, but It will keep me on track.

Take a look at the topics and the top used tags that I will use for them (mostly).

  • Monday: Personal stories (advice, life, self-improvement, love, productivity, humor)
  • Tuesday: My own publication (more on that later this month!)
  • Wednesday: Writing, SEO, Marketing, Books.
  • Thursday: Hobbies (movies, music, gaming)
  • Friday: Philosophy (philosophy, psychology, life lessons)
  • Saturday: Poetry
  • Sunday: Day off — some editing in older stories (both published and unpublished)

Most of the tags are used more than 100k times, and they are widely liked by most readers on the platform.

Okay, the planning is done. Now what?

Explore the Diversity in My Life

I can easily generate 5 ideas for every day. That will give me 5 weeks of stories to write about. That’s good. But what about aiming for the long run?

The world has a life full of diversity. If we take a deep look into our past, we will find many different aspects to cover.

Other people will find them useful. Our stories will begin to have an emotional impact as well.

Not thinking about making a living out of your writing will eventually make you create more money than you thought. People will support you because you add to their life. You change them and they will change you in advance.

I will sit down and cover my life more, from now on. I didn't give a lot of meaning to many points in my life, but I was wrong.

My two most-read pieces are stories of my life, after all.

How Will Your Life Look Without Technology for 15 Days?

I Found A Lost Piece Of Myself Watching This Rainbow

Seeking Diversity in Books/Short Stories

I’m planning to read more, which is ultimately the only way to break the boundaries of writing itself.

And I will write about what I read, actually…hehe!

I also love stories here on our platform as well. They give inspiration and a different perspective.

I need you to recommend me books, or stories that are worth it.

And I have a recommendation for you as well. I write it from my heart, and you will end up feeling more related than you think so.

Sorry Mother But I Can't Love You

Planning the Publications I’ll Pitch My Stories at

You don't need big publications to go trending, I hope that you know it by now.

I get it. You might have second thoughts on that argument.

Maria Angel Ferrero explains in detail why small publications deserve your writing more.

My favorite reason is Niche Topics.

There are places explicit for movies, philosophy, writing, etc. I just need to look out for other tags as well.

Final Thoughts

We got lost in writing for a single niche, with the idea that it will offer us more money as we build traction.

In reality, it’s easier to change the way you write, add diversity and improve the lives of others and write for different topics in the process.

You need to make your planning though. In order to change, you got to go big.

And your fans will be there to support you.

Now, let’s change Medium and Vocal, one story at a time.

Originally published on Medium.

goals
Like

About the Creator

Giorgos Pantsios

Fulltime Writer | Fulltime learner | Polymath from Greece | Exploring life | Modern Philosopher | Phone Photographer https://linktr.ee/giorgospantsios

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.