Motivation logo

The power of resilience

Candice's story shows how she is able to overcome a series of challenges and achieve her dreams.

By FredPublished 10 months ago 3 min read
Like
The power of resilience
Photo by Resilience CBD on Unsplash

Candice

I've always wanted to be a model maker. I love the way that models can capture the beauty and complexity of the world around us. But my life hasn't always been easy, and I've had to overcome a lot of challenges to get where I am today.

The early years

When I was 12, my parents got divorced. My mother remarried a man who was cruel and abusive. He made my life a living hell, and eventually I ran away from home. I moved in with my father, but he was too busy with his own life to take care of me. I started to get into trouble, I started drinking, using drugs and I was involved in constant sexual activities, and I even got pregnant at the age of 17.

The mistakes

I gave birth to a daughter, Nancy, and I tried to get my life back on track. I went back to school and got my high school diploma, but it was hard. I was working full-time and taking care of a baby, and I didn't have much support. I worked a series of low-paying jobs, and I struggled to make ends meet. I even had an abortion when I got pregnant again.

The turning point

When Nancy was 7, my stepdad died. My mom was devastated, and I started to take care of her. I put my own dreams on hold to help her, and I didn't have time to focus on myself.

A new beginning

A few years later, I decided to carry on with my childhood dream to become a model maker. I registered in college and started. I met a man named Gad. He was everything I had ever wanted: kind, handsome, and successful. We fell in love, and he promised to marry me.

The heartbreak

But then, I got pregnant again. I didn't know it at the time, but Gad was cheating on me. When I found out, I was devastated. I broke up with him, but I was already three months pregnant.

The struggle

I had to drop out of the college, and I moved back in with my mom. I was humiliated, and I felt like a failure. I didn't know what to do. I felt like my life was over. I had made so many mistakes, and I didn't know how I was going to fix them.

The light at the end of the tunnel

But then, I met Guyh. He was kind and supportive, and he helped me get back on my feet. He helped me started my own business, and I'm finally starting to feel like I'm on the right track.

The happy ending

My eyes welled up with tears as I am looking at my two daughters playing in the living room. Nancy is 14 years old now, and Jenny is 5. They are both so beautiful, and I can't believe that I am their mother. I am finally happy. With my true love Guyh, my two beautiful daughters, and a successful business.

I've been through a lot, but I'm still standing.

I've made a lot of mistakes in my life, but I've learned from them. I'm not the same person I was when I was 12 years old. I'm stronger, more independent, and more determined. I've been through a lot in my life, but I'm not going to let it define me. I'm not going to let the mistakes I've made hold me back. I'm going to keep moving forward, and I'm going to make my dreams come true.

I'm a survivor.

I've been through hell and back, but I'm still standing. I'm not going to let anything take me down.

I'm going to keep fighting for what I want.

I'm going to keep chasing my dreams. I'm not going to give up, no matter what.

I know that I can do anything I set my mind to.

I'm not going to let my past define me. I'm going to be the author of my own story, and I'm going to write a happy ending.

self helpsuccesshappinessgoalsadvice
Like

About the Creator

Fred

I am a passionate writer with a strong sense of purpose and excitement. Informative, engaging, and creative. If you want a reading experience that's both enjoyable and informative, read more from

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.