Motivation logo

The Midnight Artist

Sleep is for the Uninspired

By Georgia CurzonPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1

The Midnight Artist

The light in the kitchen always gives off such a dull yellow hue, I carefully place the paper in a spot where my shadow won’t block it from lighting the drawing. Why do I always do this at night? I ask myself as the artificial light strains my eyes while I meticulously sketch on the paper. The best inspiration always comes to me in the evenings after I’ve spent the day noticing small things of beauty in my day-to-day life. The excitement empowers me, and I cannot wait until morning to put that into place. I won’t sleep until I start my project, like a child staying up all night excited about a field trip.

Perhaps the silence also influences my desire to draw at one in the morning. It allows my mind to focus so heavily on the task at hand. Not to mention it drives me to finish it so that I can sleep. It motivates me, to sketch late, to release everything from my day into this piece of paper. All the stress and exhaustion fade with every line, relieving my mind. Allowing it to thrive in it’s abilities. It makes it personable; I feel connected with every piece when it’s done. I look at it and remember what led me to that, even the darkest days can produce beauty.

One of the best feelings I have when I wake up at noon the next day is to look for whomever is around to show them what kept me up. Why I didn’t go to sleep, to watch them react and then later ask me why I needed to do it then. Rarely do I explain, I couldn’t sleep I simply say. So why not draw? Insomnia may be a factor, but I like to think of it as excitement from inspiration.

I love to share my work, to draw someone, or something I know means something to them, and then watch it touch their soul. That bond with people speaks volumes to me, uniting us in graphite on a piece of paper. I find the surprise they express motivates me to do that again. Take a picture of their dog and sketch it out, freezing it forever in a unique way. Then just giving it to them.

I always admired those people who will sit in a field and choose a person to do a quick sketch of and then give it to them. Flattering I think, for the person who had no idea that another person saw such inspiration that they felt they needed to draw a stranger in the park. I can hardy remember to place my wallet in bag before I leave the house, much less remember to grab pencils and paper. Perhaps one day I will remember my tools and sketch a beautiful flower in the park, or the city scape lit up in the sunrise. Based on my preferred sketching time though, a spot in the city in the dark wouldn’t offer much visibility.

I dream of having gallery shows. For people to come and view my work. That is what I work towards everyday, determined to let my passion be my career. I would love the opportunity to sell my pieces and spend my days drawing, painting, even printing. To share my purpose with the world in such a visual and personal way. That connection I have with the pencils and paper has led me to the path of freelance art and I would resent myself forever if I didn’t follow through with it. Just like the musicians that practiced in garages and basements to go on to perform for millions; I will go from the dull lit kitchen to a studio where I produce art for the world to see.

goals
1

About the Creator

Georgia Curzon

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.