Motivation logo

The many things to be thankful for

My ever humble bragging blog entry

By Brian AnonymousPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
The many things to be thankful for
Photo by Guillaume de Germain on Unsplash

As bad as 2020 has been around the world I have to be thankful for a number of reasons. Sure there have been a ton of bad things that had happened in the year. I know there are a lot of people suffering and I even had a huge break up earlier in the year. Still I have tons of things to celebrate.

At the start of the year I was just starting to recover from a pretty bad accident. I was on an ebike when a car drove into me and I was sent to the hospital. There was bleeding in my brain and the rest of my body was a shambles. To add to the craziness the pandemic started happening and then my girlfriend broke up with me. I was probably at the lowest point of the year by the end of April.

The good thing is that the pandemic was a little bit of a reset for me. I had to look at things in a different perspective. I had to look after myself and do the best that I could to have a positive outlook on life or else I was going to fall down a horrible spiral.

I was lucky enough to still have a job and my work was awesome. I was able to work from home and they were very accommodating to the fact that I couldn't work to my full extent because I was still recovering from my concussion. This went a long way because it made me want to pay them back by being there for them the most I could despite my ailments. There's no telling how thankful I am to be working for such an amazing organization and with such an amazing team.

I would be remiss to forget that I still had good friends and a very supportive family. They've all been there for me through thick and thin. Everyone was supportive of what I was going through and always gave me time for whenever I needed them. It never really occurred to me that I was living alone in my life and it's thanks to them. They are forever in my heart as I am truly appreciative of their presence in my life.

One of my best skills in life is that I'm tenacious. I'm willing to consistently work at things in order to get to my goals. This helped me work on my health during the pandemic. After many grueling months and much sacrifice I was able to gain the strength back into my arm from the accident and remobilize my body to at least 80% of what I was prior to the accident. I am forever grateful that I was able to push myself to continue and not look back despite all of the distractions that lay ahead of me.

The pandemic has also allowed me to slow down and think about things. I have been able to use my mind to reevaluate my goals and how I do things in my life. This reset was an asset in my life and I know I'll be better after the pandemic because of it. It's provided me with tons of opportunities to further develop myself and think critically of what's going on in my life and how to make myself and others around me better. So it's really odd to say but I'm kind of thankful for the quarantine.

Again it is definitely a humble brag but I think my life in some ways is kind of better now that I've learned more about myself and reevaluated what's important in my life. I don't dwell on things that I can't control and accept them for what they are. My mind doesn't race anymore when I don't get my way because I'm thankful for life. I realize that I could have died in the accident that I had and the life that I live now is merely a second chance.

I've been given many second chances in life and now I'm finally starting to appreciate them for what they are. I'm able to appreciate my life more and appreciate the people and things around me. Everything now feels like pieces of art that need to be observed. As they all have interesting stories to tell. I for one will never take life for granted again. There's too many great things in my life to not to be thankful.

healing
Like

About the Creator

Brian Anonymous

I have tons of opinions that change constantly. I watch a lot of movies and play video games. There are some articles on my struggles with languages and dance as well.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.