Motivation logo

The Joy of Disconnecting from Social Media

Celebrating Freedom From Social Media

By Pep Talk RadioPublished 11 months ago 4 min read
The Joy of Disconnecting from Social Media
Photo by camilo jimenez on Unsplash

It started off slowly at first. Logging into Facebook or Instagram just out of habit, mindlessly scrolling through the feed to see what my friends and family were up to or kill time when I was bored.

Double tapping photos, leaving comments, getting caught up in random conversations in group chats.

It became such an important part of my daily routine that I didn't even think twice about it.

But over time, I started to feel that social media was taking over my life in ways I didn't like. The hours spent mindlessly scrolling left me feeling drained and unsatisfied.

I found myself comparing my life, my relationships, my looks to the carefully curated glimpses I saw of my friends' lives online.

I was more concerned about getting likes and validation from virtual strangers than I was about enjoying and being present in my own life.

The endless highlight reels of vacations, weddings, babies, and promotions stirred up feelings of inadequacy, envy, and anxiety. The fake lives and filtered versions of reality that I consuming daily made me hyperaware of what I lacked.

I had hundreds of online friends but felt truly close to very few.

My real life relationships suffered as I devoted more time and mental energy to maintaining my online persona.

The final straw came when I was on a long awaited vacation with my fiancé and realized I was spending more time trying to get the perfect Instagram shot than I was enjoying the moment and her company.

When we got home, I discovered she felt the same way. We had both failed to be present on what was supposed to be a relaxing, connecting trip.

That's when I knew something had to change.

I was weary of the constant pressures and hollowness of social media, but I knew it would be difficult to walk away completely. These platforms had become such fixtures in my daily life over the past decade.

I considered just deleting the apps from my phone or limiting my use to only one platform.

But I knew myself too well, and those small steps would likely fail. When the apps were right at my fingertips, I lacked the discipline to restrain my use.

I needed a clean break. And so, on July 12, 2022, I made the decision to delete all of my social media accounts. Snapchat, Facebook, Instagram, Twitter - gone in an instant.

At first, the adjustment was jarring. My thumbs unconsciously reached for apps that were no longer there. When I felt bored, I instinctively wanted to "just see what's happening on Instagram."

During fun experiences, my first thought was wondering what I could post rather than simply enjoying the moment.

But after a few weeks, I adjusted to the absence of social media in my life.

And unexpectedly, I found myself happier, less anxious, more appreciative of my life, and more intentional in nurturing real world relationships.

I rekindled friendships that had taken a backseat to digital communication. I called people I cared about just to talk - for no reason other than wanting to connect.

I said yes to more social invitations and hosted friends at my home.

Without the pressure to capture and post Instagram-worthy photos, I was fully immersed in experiences, noticing small details and having meaningful conversations.

I had more free time to develop neglected hobbies, read books just for pleasure, and explore my city. I felt like I was truly living in the moment instead of always wondering what I could share online later.

Letting go of social media also broke my tendency to compare myself to others. I was less consumed by other people's relationship statuses, career updates, bodies, material goods, or experiences.

I learned to appreciate people for who they are in my life, not the carefully curated persona they portray online. Without measuring myself against anyone else, I felt free to simply focus on my own growth and goals.

Now when I achieve something, my first instinct is to share the news with close loved ones or reflect on the personal satisfaction, not to imagine how many likes the update would get on Facebook.

And when something bad happens, I turn to my own inner resilience and real world support system rather than seeking sympathy through status updates.

Over time, I've learned to see social media for what it often is - an addiction, a form of entertainment, a highlight reel, an illusion.

Of course connecting online has value, but it shouldn't overtake or distort real world connection and living.

Letting go of social media opened my eyes to how much more there is to life. More conversations to have, places to explore, books to read, skills to learn, and moments to savor.

I have deepened ties to the people who matter most and freed up mental space previously occupied by social media noise.

I now have created accounts on a few platforms that I use sparingly for sharing my writing and other creative projects. But I am careful to use them mindfully and on my own terms, rather than letting them seduce me back into the habit of mindless scrolling and building my self-worth through likes.

Going offline completely rebalanced how I spend my precious time and energy.

It forced me to cultivate meaning and joy through real world pursuits. And it's one of the best decisions I've ever made.

Find me on Medium & My Website!

how tosuccesssocial mediaself helphealinghappinessgoalsadvice

About the Creator

Pep Talk Radio

Pep Talk Radio is an innovative online platform facilitating cross-cultural connection and language fluency for learners across the globe. Our online platform enables language learners to connect, practice, and build fluency together.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Pep Talk RadioWritten by Pep Talk Radio

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.