Motivation logo

Positive Boredom

unplugging once a week, or even once a month

By Kaitlyn DawnPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
1
Positive Boredom
Photo by Kelly Sikkema on Unsplash

Is this an oxymoron -- positive boredom? Sounds like it, doesn't it?

I know what you're thinking: "Why would anyone WANT to be bored?" We live in a technological age, an era of immediate access to information and a multitude of options for entertainment. We don't need to be bored when we have all this ...

But we actually do. This constant go-go-go attitude is stifling to our creativity. I learned about this concept of "positive boredom" from Liz Dean (author of How to Be Creative), but Felicia Day agrees. By unplugging once in awhile, we begin to recharge our brain and allow new ideas to flow in.

“It was hard, but I noticed that after stints of unplugging, I would start to be inspired again. I began to brainstorm new projects.”

It can definitely be hard, at first. What do you do with yourself if you don't have a screen in front of you?

I've had to adjust over the past few months to being a dog owner -- I look after him during the day while my boyfriend is at work. And at first, I sort of resented having to take him outside every couple hours ... it interrupts my creative flow! (To be honest, sometimes I still don't love it; I used to work on projects for 8-12 hours straight, with little breaks for food and bathroom.) I've noticed multiple times now, especially when I've been stuck on my writing, if I take Panda out for just 5 minutes, something clicks. It's an incredible a-ha feeling, and I'm not forcing the idea to come ... I let my mind wander away from the idea, and return to it lightly, and wander again, and something just eventually happens.

Not everyone has a dog in their life to use as a creativity tool, but you don't need one. Go for a walk alone, or lie on your bed or the couch, or sit in the garden or under a tree or on a beach ... do what feels right for you!

Doing "nothing" may seem like a waste of time; where is the value? Consider this: When you’re at work, are you more productive if you spend 8 hours straight on a task? OR, do you feel recharged after taking a lunch break, not focusing on your work for 30 minutes? It’s the same with creativity; those 5+ minutes you spend doing nothing will benefit your project.

I've heard it said that if something is boring for a couple minutes, try doing it for four ... still boring, try it for eight ... sixteen ... thirty-two ... eventually, you'll come to find it's not boring. If I take Panda for a walk, further away from the apartment, it becomes an adventure. I wrote a poem the other day about a Willow tree I found along our path ... I don't consider myself a poet, but I was inspired that particular day.

Challenge

Try it once ... and then maybe you'll try it once a month, or even once a week.

Go one day without technology. If you find yourself reaching for your phone, stare out the window for a minute. You may be inspired to write, or draw, or bake ... if you're like me, you may sometimes be inspired to clean the house. (Hey, a girl can't be creative ALL the time!)

The exercise isn't necessarily about what you do throughout the day though -- it's about what you think. Jot down anything that comes to mind: new ideas; happy thoughts; thoughts you've never had before; things you may have forgotten but suddenly remembered (it happens!) ... whatever the thoughts may be, keep a notebook handy with you all day.

If you need to ease your way into it, start by scheduling ONE HOUR in your calendar -- "Positive Boredom Hour", or whatever you want to call it. Commit to it; don't let other appointments or anything come into that hour. Engage with the boredom and uncertainty of that hour. The only "technological" thing you can use during this hour is a timer (preferably not one on your phone or laptop or other device ... maybe try the oven timer?). But also, don't just stare at the time ... we don't want you focusing on how much time you have left. Enjoy the process.

Parting Words from Felicia

“I’m not saying everyone needs to go cold turkey from tech in order to give their brains daydreaming R&R. But let’s face it: “Eureka!” will never come from reading a Facebook status update.”

(Note: This is my fourth article relating to EMBRACE YOUR WEIRD. If you enjoyed this article, please check out my other three: Treat Yourself Like a Research Project; Combatting Creative Enemies; and, Teach You, Teach Me)

advice
1

About the Creator

Kaitlyn Dawn

27, Canadian, she/her

Life & Creativity Coach

reader, writer, and lover of words

https://www.kaitlyndawn.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.