Poets logo

Underneath the Willow

my new favourite nature spot

By Kaitlyn DawnPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
Underneath the Willow
Photo by CHUTTERSNAP on Unsplash

Underneath the Willow ...

I stand, basking in the glorious day,

the wind lightly passing my cheeks.

Underneath the Willow ...

I remember the Willow of my childhood,

the one I had to leave behind when we moved.

I remember the Willow of my teens,

the one that was destroyed in the storm a few years ago

and never fully recovered after.

I remember these trees fondly,

for I have always loved Willows;

they have always brought me joy.

Underneath the Willow ...

I can see the sandy beach,

empty and vast, warm and inviting.

I can see the river, sparkling,

like the Fjords of Oslo.

I can see the mountains,

surrounding this tranquil haven.

Underneath the Willow ...

I imagine myself sitting,

notebook and pen at the ready,

writing until the sun disappears.

I imagine a version of myself,

not letting my anxiety think about

all the bugs lurking in the grass.

Underneath the Willow ...

I notice a bench, in loving memory

of a couple, Mr. and Mrs. A --

"Always remembered with a smile".

I think this is the perfect spot,

for my writing

and to gaze upon the Willow.

nature poetry
1

About the Creator

Kaitlyn Dawn

27, Canadian, she/her

Life & Creativity Coach

reader, writer, and lover of words

https://www.kaitlyndawn.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.