Motivation logo

Plans on Plans on Waffles

What I am Learning

By N.J. KarpPublished about a year ago 2 min read
1
Plans on Plans on Waffles
Photo by Tangerine Newt on Unsplash

If you came here for a really awesome recipe for waffles, I apologize... there are no waffles. I tend to explain things via favourite quotes or anecdotes, and if this doesn't describe the stage I currently find myself in, then I don't know what does.

I am a stay-at-home mom of four kids, who has found growth, art, creativity, and voice through writing. I use to find it in music, singing, dance, and performance and sometimes I still do, although the opportunity is rare as my anxiety does not normally allow for it. I have been writing more strictly, for two years now although I have been writing in some capacity for most of my life. This is what I have learned so far about the craft, about myself, and about life.

I need to reintroduce myself to the English language because if you look too closely at this article I can promise you there will be several commas where they shouldn't be and since having children, my formally large vocabulary has been reduced to what a small toddler can understand.

I am a perfectionist that became a perfectionist due to severe trauma and now I don't believe I am much good at anything. This extends to all aspects of my life but became apparent in my writing and now I'm in therapy.

I have quite a few triggers mainly around violence. I also do not like to be sad or scared.

I will skip to the end of the book, therefore, spoiling it so that I can read the rest of the book with less anxiety. This also applies to movies. I have never said that to anyone because of reasons that I think are pretty obvious.

I am very scared of publishing my work (see the above reasons), but I am very excited to hopefully be self-publishing my first children's book this spring. I expect to sell it to no one.

I have also learned that I may have a dark sense of humour and a lot of sarcasm.

Writing is more than actually writing. It is editing, marketing, networking, researching, investing, and the list seems endless.

I learned that writing takes patience, time, energy, soul, and a frustrating amount of concentration.

Mostly I learned a lot about myself. I found a voice that I am still refining, a mind I am opening, a heart that I am healing, and a body I am strengthening. Writing is hard, but I have learned that it is such a beautiful expression of what is happening in one's mind, how can one not fall in love?

I learned to love myself just a little more. I am socially awkward, emotional, reactive, and very hard on myself. I am also hard-working, honest, determined, passionate, and doting. I will use all of this newfound knowledge to grow, continue learning, and write.

What are my plans?

They are to self-publish two children's books this year, as an ode to the love I have for my kids. I hope to finish my first romance novel this year in order to start editing soon after. I plan to continue participating in lots of challenges to further develop my style and pace. Finally, I plan to continue therapy, continue healing, and find peace in the knowledge that my journey is far from over.

So now that I have introduced myself, how do you like your waffles? I take mine with strawberry jam and Greek vanilla yogurt.

healinggoals
1

About the Creator

N.J. Karp

I write to explore. I write for pleasure. I write for the love of it. I am happy to share stories, poetry, and thoughts with other readers. I am working on publishing children's stories but I love to read mystery, romance, and fantasy.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dylan about a year ago

    Strawberry and Greek yogurt sounds delicious! I like my waffles with peanut butter, maple syrup, and bananas! I enjoyed this writing too, I'm excited to read those stories when you finish them!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.