Motivation logo

Papa Joe Aviance

Inspiring Healthy Living

By Tammy ReesePublished 4 years ago 8 min read
1
Papa Joe Aviance ( Entrepreneur, Recording Artist, Best Selling Author)

Papa Joe Aviance is a successful clothing designer, musician and CEO of his LA-based production company, Papa Joe Networks. He was able to get to where he is today because of his drive, ambition and positivity. In 2002 Papa Joe moved to Hollywood to pursue a career in acting and music.

Hollywood's Papa Joe Aviance is a two-time Amazon Best-Selling author. His journey began after his song was #6 on Billboard’s Dance Chart. The music video "Last Night a DJ Saved My Life" was played round the clock on MTV and VH-1 and that’s when he realized he was dissatisfied with his 450 pound body.

In 18 months he lost 250 pounds! His transformation was so extreme that he was asked to be on several talk shows such as Rachael Ray, The Doctors, FOX, CBS, The Hallmark Channel, and many more.

Today Papa Joe has announced his latest project, an animated black super-hero series entitled Electric Negro. The show is making headlines while in the final stages of distribution with letters of intent from AJ McLean (Backstreet Boys), Denzel Whitaker (Black Panther), and many more celebrities who have already signed on as voice actors for the main characters.

Vocal readers please enjoy our interview!

Papa Joe Aviance ( Entrepreneur, Recording Artist, Best Selling Author)

Tammy Reese:

What inspired you to transform from a Billboard Dance Chart-Topping Recording Artist to Life Coach and Entrepreneur?

Papa Joe Aviance:

Everything has been a ripple effect. I've always had a passion for music, but seeing myself in my music video was my wake up call for my personal journey. I've been going through a self-discovery, and emerging into the person that I am becoming. The dance single that came out "Last Night a DJ Saved My Life" was my first time ever recording a song, it hit #6 on the Billboard Magazine Dance Charts.

I was 450 pounds, unhappy, uncomfortable, unhealthy, and unemployed. I had to get the weight off of me once and for all. So I said to myself what is the easiest exercise I could do, it was walking. Within 18 months walking up to five miles per day, rain or shine, I went from eating 7,000 calories per day to 2,000. I drastically changed my diet with no nutritional background what so ever. I literally went on the internet and grabbed the food pyramid table. I said, "everything on here is good and everything else is bad."

Talking with other likeminded individuals who were on the same journey I was able to take some of the tips and tricks that worked for them and apply them to myself. Initially getting to the root of the problem of being heavy I came up with a solution called the "3 W's". A trick for anybody out there trying to lose weight and self discover ask yourself, "What, When , and Why." When I found out what my triggers were, and that I was eating through my emotions I would remember why I started. So if I had something that was unhealthy I would put it back and then go get something better. It led me to lose 250 pounds.

I had to change my diet . The 7,000 calories a day I was consuming included breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Then a late night binge session which consisted of 2 big mac meals, a family size bag of Dorito's, a chocolate cake (a whole one), and 2 diet cokes to wash it down. After all of that intake, I was killing myself with food. I felt I was 2 cheeseburgers away from a heart attack .

Papa Joe Aviance ( Before and After)

Being unemployed I had to really find a way to survive. My friend told me I should go check out the 99 cent store, I was like I'm not going to check out the 99 cent store, but after being encouraged by my friend I walked up in there. The store had fruits, vegetables, and everything I could survive on for just one dollar. I felt the clouds opened up, and the sun came down on me.

I walked out of the store with breakfast, lunch, and dinner totaling up to 40 dollars per week. Breaking down those meals to 7 dollars per day. I was able to buy fruits, vegetables, breakfast and dinner items, make my own meals and survive. I was proving the myth that you don't have to be wealthy to be healthy. I proved the myth wrong by shopping at a 99 cent store. Also I proved that you don't need a gym, surgery, or crazy diets to lose weight.

Papa Joe Aviance ( Entrepreneur, Recording Artist, Best Selling Author)

During my journey walking those 5 miles a day my song came out on Billboard and debuted at number 24. Each time the song went up on the charts I would walk to a further newsstand to go get the magazine and to reward myself seeing my name in print. My name was next to Beyoncé and Christina Aguilera. Seeing that would motivate me for the music, and it would motivate me for my weight loss . By the time the song went to number 6, I was walking 5 miles.

From there I wrote a book called Balancing The Scales. I wanted to leave some bread crumbs behind because I didn't want anyone else to fall through the same pit falls that I have. I consider it a handbook of stories including some of the valuable things I have learned.

"It's not about the weight that you lose, it's about the life that you gain."

-Papa Joe Aviance

Papa Joe Aviance (Producer and Creator of Animated Series "Electric Negro")

Tammy Reese:

How did your new upcoming animated series Electric Negro come into existence?

Papa Joe Aviance:

It was my nickname that I called myself as a trademark because I found my inner super hero through my transformation. It's about becoming your own super hero and motivating your self. We are all electric inside. Electric Negro is a new animated series that I am doing which is controversial, unapologetic, thought provoking, and hilarious.

A new black super hero that I am so ready to bring to the table, and to the light. I am so blessed to have Denzel Whitaker ( Black Panther), and AJ McLean (Backstreet Boys) along with tons of other celebrities that have come on board contributing their voices. I've been cultivating the idea for 5 years, and now it's really coming to the forefront I now have the opportunity to start presenting it to networks.

Dr. Travis Stork with Papa Joe Aviance on the hit TV Show The Doctors

Tammy Reese:

What are some memorable moments in your career so far ?

Papa Joe Aviance:

I've done the national media circuit being featured on shows such as The Doctors, Rachel Ray, and more discussing my weight lose journey, and trying to motivate and inspire people to take health a little bit more seriously. Anyone can start now, in 3 months you will be thanking yourself. You would have escaped somethings that you no longer have to worry about.

I've been blessed to do this, but sometimes I get scared because sometimes I feel alone in this. I also know inspiring some young people out there or inspiring somebody to be a little bit healthier makes it all worth it to me. That is what I realized my purpose is. That is why I want to leave my legacy behind with the cartoon. I have overcome, but I still can relate to a lot of people who have been where I have.

Being in national publications or on national talk shows like Rachel Ray have been memorable, just as memorable like right now being interviewed on your platform to get the message out, I am thankful for that. I want to inspire people to be their best selves.

Tammy Reese:

How has the pandemic changed your day -to-day life?

Papa Joe Aviance:

It hasn't changed my day-to-day life at all. Being a creator or in Producer mode, I'm usually isolated anyway. Not being around people or social distancing, I am use to it. During this time frame if you can take hold of your creativity, work on projects and yourself this is the moment to do that.

Covid 19 right now shined the light on black people being disproportionately affected by this because of heart disease, high blood pressure, high cholesterol and other health related issues. If we as a people can prevent those measures right now, we can take control and fight the disease on a bigger level by chance you happen to get it.

I know we are stressed about finances, stressed about rent, stressed about the disease, and stressed about our health, but we have to survive. There are a lot of jobs that are not coming of back based on the pandemic. I've been telling a lot of people to tap into that creative side and see how it goes.

I started writing my second book during this time frame. I am still producing the show at the same time. The pandemic has given me the opportunity to create, create something out of a bad situation.

Papa Joe Aviance (2x Amazon Best Selling Author)

Tammy Reese:

What is your stance on the Black Lives Matter Movement?

Papa Joe Aviance:

I'm all for it, 100 percent. We have to be recognized, it's our time. Electric Negro reflect that black lives do matter. The animated series shares our voices and our messages of where we come from and what we are about, as a people, and as a culture . I have had my experience with police brutality, I'm all for the movement spreading that positive message. Hopefully we can defuse some of these situations that we come across as black people.

A lot of these institutions are being broken down right now, it's time for our voices to be heard. Black Lives Matter, and Power To The People!

I am so excited to have some fun with Electric Negro and entertain our people. Along with others who are interested in our culture, and who are excited for this too . Electric Negro is about unity and our allies also.

We need to love each other more or we wont have a world to look up to. We have to learn how to co-exist and get a piece of the pie at the same time.

Tammy Reese:

What are some words of inspiration you would leave our Vocal readers ?

Papa Joe Aviance:

Some important things to focus on are health and wellness, and goals and dreams, all which require motivation .

Also hope doesn't give up, and neither should you. In times of darkness look for the light, there's always a piece of light somewhere. You have to keep focused on it, and never give up .

Papa Joe Aviance (Producer and Creator of Animated Series "Electric Negro")

Follow Papa Joe Aviance on Instagram : @papajoeaviance

interview
1

About the Creator

Tammy Reese

Tammy is best known for her legendary interviews with Sharon Stone, Angela Bassett, Sigourney Weaver, Geena Davis, Morris Chestnut, Jeffrey Dean Morgan, Sheryl Lee Ralph, Laurence Fishburne, Omar Epps, Joseph Sikora, and more.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.