Motivation logo

Overcoming Negative Thoughts

Discovering the Steps to Taking Back your Mind

By Charity BoydPublished 6 years ago 4 min read
Like
Self Image can be life shattering or bring tremendous beatitude.

I've always known that I was put on this earth to do some pretty amazing things. I remember being a child and just having the most overwhelming feelings of superwoman-ness that I would literally cry. Because I just couldn't figure out what I was supposed to do with it.

I mean, I loved helping people (still do!) but I didn't have much to give. And I've always loved making people laugh (because I'm a natural female Kevin Hart, just a little taller) but the smiles would always seem to fade after awhile. Of course, I was just your typical 40 year old 9 year old thinking about all of this. But I needed to know what this feeling was and why I had it.

Fast forward about 11 years later and MY GOD I have never wanted to be 9 years old again so bad in my life. 20 years old and I still have no idea who I am. Growing up in church you're taught that your identity should be found in Christ. That you should (try to) see yourself the way God sees you. But that concept has been something I've struggled with my entire life.

See, I believe that at times I can be my worst enemy. Most of the time I get in my own way. Whether it be with my thoughts, emotions, actions, or even my relationships. They have all in some way shaped how I have seen myself over the years. Especially having to go from dependent child to independent adult (And my mom is still my crutch).

During this transition I have fought with thoughts like, "You won't ever be able to take care of yourself," and "You can't ever do anything right," or even, "Watch how you mess this up." As some of you may know, our actions can be a direct result of our thoughts. So as one would image I became lazy and way more hesitant to do things that would help me in fear of not being able to "do it right." I thought so little of MY ability that I became a mind reader. Always telling myself what others "probably" thought about me. It wasn't until I had an encounter with God one night during a bible study with my sister that I snapped out of it.

We were studying many different scriptures on faith and I realized I had little faith in my ability but I hadn't even thought to have faith in God's ability to work through me. From there I had to do somethings differently. Here are a few things I make and effort to do everyday that motivate and uplift me.

1) Talk that talk! (And do it with attitude.)

It's important to talk back to your negative thoughts. And no I don't mean full out yelling at yourself in public. That's probably not the best way to go about this. But responding positively to every negative thought you have. This a great way to empower yourself in the moment. For example, with a thought like, "I'm always broke! I'm never going to pay off all that debt," try a positive response the speaks good things into your future like, "I will be debt free! I will make conscious spending decisions." Even if it's hard for you to see it in that moment, say it anyways and put action behind it. Soon enough you'll see it manifest.

2) Move around.

When ever I feel myself slipping into anything that even resembles depression or feel negative thoughts coming on I get productive. It helps to keep yourself busy. Exercise, go for a walk, clean your house, etc. Anything that will get you focused on something that will benefit you later.

3) Input

It's important to watch what you take in. What you watch and listen to has tremendous impact on how you think. Make an effort to find someone who really motivates you or gives wisdom that you can truly use in life. A pastor, motivational speaker, a mentor or etc. Listen to music that uplifts you and makes you happy. I personally like to go back and listen to sermons because they inspire me.

4) Hobby

What is the one thing you love to do the most? Do you sing, write, cook, work out, help others, watch children, etc.? Whatever it is that gives you some sense of pride in yourself, that makes you feel good and takes your mind off your troubles for the time being, do it.

5) Faith

Don't count yourself out. No matter how bad I may feel, I always remember a time in my past where I thought I would never be able to move forward. And it gives me strength because I did. I moved forward and I overcame. Have faith in yourself that you can withstand and push through. No great person ever went through life without struggles. You got this!

advice
Like

About the Creator

Charity Boyd

WASSHHPOPPINN!! Names Charity some call me Goodwill, totally joking no one calls me that. I'm 20 years old and writing is my outlet. I'm God's number one fan and I just want to share my transparent view on the life he gave me. STAY BLESSED!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.