Humans logo

Words for My Husband

The Prayer I Wrote Years Ago for My Future Spouse

By Charity BoydPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like

I'm going to be sharing something really personal with you guys. And if you know me, you know that's not something that I do with just anybody. But I read this prayer I wrote a few years ago and I felt the need to share it. My prayer wall holds pretty much every "serious" issue I've had in life since the time I was 16 years old. So you could imagine the things that I thought were "serious" over the years. I've never really been a person who likes to talk to others about what it is I deal with. I actually find it kind of difficult to open up sometimes. Which is why I started my prayer wall. I write down my prayers (of course not all of them), date them and sign my name. I like to go back and read them just to see how far God has brought me. And to see how much I've grown since.

Growing up in a one parent household you kind of miss out on seeing certain things in your home. My mother has never been one to just parade anyone in front of her children. So operating in a relationship is something I'm definitely still learning. Although, its never my main focus I've always thought about the qualities I wanted my husband to have if I were to ever be married. But I also knew I wanted it to all to be in God's timing (because my first marriage is my LAST). For Him to truly prepare us for that step. Every "relationship" I've been in God has been very consistent with letting me know if this person was for me or not and it was left up to me to listen and make the next step. So far, I'll let you guess who's lasted ("NOBODY" in my Keith Sweat voice.)

I know I was young when I wrote the prayer (17 years old) but it's never too early to pray about your future. I think I've added a few things to the list but originally when I wrote this it was from a perspective of where we both were currently. I knew that I wanted to fall in love with a man who was already in love with Jesus; "Husbands, love your wives, just as Christ loved the church and gave himself up for her." (Ephesians 5:25 [NIV])" that's when I decided to write this:

The Prayer

The Prayer.

It reads:

"A prayer for my husband. May 25th, 2015 @ 6:11pm.

Dear God, tonight I want to pray for my other half. Though I'm not sure if our paths have crossed yet I know they will eventually. I pray that you would watch over and protect him wherever he may be. Encourage his heart when he needs it the most. Give him the strength he needs to get through those hard times. And in those times where he feels alone embrace him with your loving spirit and remind him that you are always there for him. I pray that whoever is in his life now is there to either teach him or make/push him to be better. Keep him away from people who mean him no good. Give him the discernment to know what situations to insert himself in. Keep his heart pure and true. Dear Lord prepare us for one another. That when we meet we're inseparable, building one another up with friendship, love, encouragement, and so much more. Until that day when we finally say 'I do.' Amen."

I still pray for my future hubby and I've added so much more to my prayer. I thank God for the privilege of being able to ask Him for the things we want. "Ask and it will be given to you; seek and you will find; knock and the door will be opened to you." (Matthew 7:7 [NIV]) I think it's super important not to put your main focus on finding the one but being the one. Prepare yourself for what's to come in your future. Build yourself up, do the things that make you happy, go to work or start a business. Focus on being the best you for you and in the meantime pray for the person who will one day come and make the best you, better. Thanks for reading!

marriage
Like

About the Creator

Charity Boyd

WASSHHPOPPINN!! Names Charity some call me Goodwill, totally joking no one calls me that. I'm 20 years old and writing is my outlet. I'm God's number one fan and I just want to share my transparent view on the life he gave me. STAY BLESSED!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.