Motivation logo

One Man

A real man is priceless.

By Theresa EvansPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
1
One Man
Photo by Taylor Grote on Unsplash

One man can teach you that all men are not the same.

As all of my readers and followers know, I have overcome a traumatic past, and with other past relationships, it was hard for me to understand that the other party was not giving me everything I needed to grow and succeed. For many of us, the word successful means different things to everyone, but for me, successfulness means being of service to others I know can not ever pay me back. I do this because of the instant reward I receive when helping others without looking for something in return. Now true, there is a reward for me being kind, humble, loving, honest, and all the positive words out there, but the reward is simple, and the reward is you smiling.

Something as simple as being able to wake up, brush your teeth, take a shower/bath, have food to eat, all your bills are paid, and the kids are good, and on top of all this, you still have a job that you can go to every day and work to provide for you and your family. I know that many people think this is weird, but from where I came, there is always a way to show gratitude for what you have.

I look forward to paying my rent every month because that keeps me out of the streets, and I look forward to going to work because that pays for everything else I am trying to do. Now back to the point at hand, I said one man can teach you that all men are not the same because it is so true in my life. This man came along at a time in my life when I was totally damaged from the inside out. This man took the time to meet me at my level of pain and gave me so much wisdom, grace, understanding, compassion, humility, focus, drive, mental clarity, and love, just to name a few. I never thought I would find a man who loves me for me and does not always want anything in return. The only thing this wonderful and unique man ever wanted from me was to see myself better than where I see myself now. He has continuously poured positive energy into me, but I couldn't see him for years because of the past trauma I couldn't see.

This man was the one that showed me how to love myself for the first time in my entire life. He has these little sayings that made me pause and relook at him. Now we all know looking inwardly at yourself is not fun because it forces you to work on yourself and no one else. I am saying to this remarkable man, THANK YOU. I thank you for all the times you allowed me to voice my concerns to you and you not getting mad at me for saying no to things. I thank you for helping to refind my inner voice again and always letting me know that it will be okay. Thank you for showing me how to love myself the right way for a change. I didn't know I could love myself before others because this was my regularity of operating. Thank you for always inspiring me to be tremendous and holding me accountable when I set a goal for myself. Thank you for always being that personal cheerleader on the sidelines, encouraging me.

Like I said earlier, all men are not the same, and it does take a real man to show you the correct way to love and help others. Remember, ladies and gentlemen, if you have someone in your life giving you all of the basic things you need to grow and develop, take the time to listen to them because if they genuinely love you, their intentions will match their actions.

advicegoalshappinesshealingself helpsuccess
1

About the Creator

Theresa Evans

I am a woman on fire for the love of life and being able to reach one life at a time through my words. If I can reach one then I can teach one the art of healing one's self from the inside out all mentaly

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.