Motivation logo

Money...We'll Talk About It

B5

By NeishPublished about a year ago 3 min read
1

Money, money, money. I think young people have this idea that we have to have it all together so soon or we’re unsuccessful. Usually, “success” is based on your income. Obviously, with this economic climate–financial stability can be difficult to get and maintain. I wish I had multiple tips that could guarantee you financial freedom, but I don’t. I do, however, have a couple that can help lessen the burden—keep reading and I’ll let you in on a few.

I remember in college I was sitting with my best-friend Lynn in the cafe and we had randomly decided to check our bank accounts. I had like $4.36 in my account. Now, this is pretty average for college students. The term broke college student wasn’t created for cuteness, it’s real. I vowed that day to NEVER get that broke again. I lied. Because I definitely was broke like that again another time or two. The thing is when I was broke, I didn’t have many bills or things to pay for. When I became a little more stable and had constant motion with money, all of sudden there was so much money that needed to come out— which made it feel impossible to save. I guess Biggie was onto something when he said mo money, mo problems.

I currently live in one of the most expensive cities in the United States, Los Angeles. I graduated college in Alabama in May of 2020, moved back in with my parents in August 2020 and moved to L.A. in January 2022. I’ll tell you what simple tasks I did to help me save a little. First and foremost, I owe a lot to God and my parents. They fortunately didn’t charge me rent, so I understand if this part will have to be tweaked on your end. This is what I did:

1. I created a budget book.

2. I calculated the total of my monthly bills.

3. I gave myself a weekly budget (include gas in this because it’ll help you spend less).

4. I WROTE DOWN EVERY PURCHASE. It defeats the purpose of the budget book if you don’t and you’ll more than likely spend more money because you’re not seeing how it’s all adding up.

5. I cut down on eating out and partying/clubbing (this is easy to do if that’s not your scene anyways).

6. I wrote down my goals. Reflect on them often. You have to remember why you’re doing this. The first week will be easy, it’s the fourth or fifth week that will test you.

Now, if your day job isn’t paying enough and you have the time (because your body does need proper rest) check out brand ambassador gigs with companies such as: Newbridge Marketing, Moet Hennessy, LVT models OR apps like: PopBookings, Shiftsmart, or Instawork. They offer simple, easy-to-do jobs that are usually 4-8 hours with good pay.

Also, Justin Kihano (you can find him on TikTok, Facebook, and Youtube) where he talks regularly about money hacks, building credit, and good debt. Yes, good debt–you read that right.

Look, I know not being financially stable can take an emotional toll. You’re more irritable or isolated because you’re just stressed while trying your best. I know it may not seem like it right now, but spoiler alert… it all works out in the end for you. As I’ve said, I don’t have all the answers, but I will always offer what I do have and that’s this blog filled with some helpful tips I can pass along.

Sometimes your money isn’t flowing because where you live isn’t the place for your market. So saving is one thing, but saving for a move to a different city is another— don’t worry... we’ll talk about it.

HAPPY TUESDAY!

quotessuccessself helphow togoalsadvice
1

About the Creator

Neish

Hi! I’m Aneisha. I'm the author of the blog--We'll Talk About It! It releases every Tuesday. You can also find some short stories and poems I used to write, while you're waiting for the next blog post. <3

Instagram: @aneishabrackens

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.