Motivation logo

Logging Off...We'll Talk About It

B4

By NeishPublished about a year ago 2 min read
3

Sometimes, we need to detach from the internet and social media. I would say just don’t check it, but usually we have a habit of browsing certain apps—even if we’re bored of them, we just do it. It’s so odd. I think we know we could be doing something more “productive”, but at the same time we’ve been working/studying so hard that we think we’ve also earned the right to be lazy at this moment (we probably have). My only battle with this is, taking in so much content continuously can mess with us subconsciously or even disrupt our moods unknowingly.

Honestly, I logged onto my personal Facebook this morning (yesterday since you’re reading this on Tuesday) and at least 5 different things pissed me off. I think I got into 3 different debates, maybe? Which isn’t who I've been the last few years. I stopped going back and forth with common-sense challenged people a long time ago, but today—I guess I had the time and the energy. After *cough* winning *cough* those debates… I felt so irritable. I tried going on a few other social sites I have and nothing fixed it. Finally, I just logged out of everything. I went for a run, showered, and then cooked. I felt way better after that. Obviously everyone doesn’t need to log off because trolls are annoying them, everyone will have their own reason of course– but know that it needs to be done if you’re chronically online. I’m not saying take a 6-month hiatus (which is cool too though), but don’t work/study all day and then use all of your free time scrolling on an app or site.

This can be such a power struggle for myself and others who have careers or side hustles that are based on us being active online and engaged constantly. I’ve realized that whatever it is can usually wait and if it can’t wait, was it really for me anyways or was it for whoever was available?

A lot of people casually scroll and think nothing of it because they don’t see how the information they are intaking daily is affecting them, but the people around them do. Don’t get me wrong, it’s not always negative. Some people discovered who Keith Lee (this is a Keith Lee stan account) is by scrolling on TikTok and now have a desire to try new dishes out. So there are some pros to it, but don’t let your entire personality derive from everything you’ve been exposed to online. I’d laugh and say that’s unreal if I hadn’t seen it happen myself. Twitter users, have you ever talked to someone and their entire personality and thought process is based on viral tweets? It’s insane. All I'm saying is, be content without content sometimes. Wow, that was corny. I am sorry, but it's true. Okay?! We're honest at this blog lol.

Look, I appreciate you being online and reading this— I do. However, after this… take a few minutes/HOURS to yourself. Please. If you’re already thinking about the app you’re going to after reading this, well… we’ll talk about it.

Happy Tuesday (:

happinesssuccessself helphealingadvice
3

About the Creator

Neish

Hi! I’m Aneisha. I'm the author of the blog--We'll Talk About It! It releases every Tuesday. You can also find some short stories and poems I used to write, while you're waiting for the next blog post. <3

Instagram: @aneishabrackens

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.