Motivation logo

Mental Health... We'll Talk About It

B8

By NeishPublished about a year ago 5 min read
1

Mental Health…let’s go. I’m not talking from a holier than thou perspective on this because I’m such a hypocrite. I am adamant about my family, friends, and strangers making their mental health a top priority to conduct to their best level—however that may look. I am pro-therapy, but I’ve only had a few sessions myself. That’s the hypocrisy. I haven’t indulged though because it’s costly, but I did recently get insurance (I know, I know) so I need to double-check, but I think it covers the majority of it. Check your insurance and see if mental health treatment is covered by it-- don't let the cost keep you away like it has done for me.

Therapy isn’t the only aid, but I do feel like everyone should do a few sessions at least at some point in life. Please, please, please be honest in these sessions. We, as humans, can’t help but to be biased when telling stories that happen within our life… I get that. Just try to be honest with everything you said and did as well in those stories you tell. The stranger on the bus overhearing you tell your bestfriend everything may look at you crazy, but telling the truth isn’t going to make your therapist look at you differently. So do it. You can’t truly get the help needed if you’re dishonest about what the problems are and your reactions to them. Your mental health issues could be directly related to a mental disorder (BPD, PTSD, Depression, Anxiety, OCD, and more) that only a professional can discover. There is no shame in taking medication to help control these.

Also, when people are struggling with mental health it can vary in looks. It’s unfortunate that we don’t all have close relationships with others to where this is always noticeable instantly. However, some of these never go noticed because there are people who are high-functioning while struggling with mental health. Some of the signs of someone’s mental health declining according to foundcare.org is:

• Feeling irritable or being more emotional than usual

• Feelings of loneliness or sadness

• Changes in weight or appetite (eating more than usual or not having an appetite)

• Disrupted sleep (not being able to fall asleep or stay asleep)

• Isolating from friends and family

• Feelings of tiredness and low energy to do daily activities

• Unable to cope with problems and stressors

• Poor performance at work or school (problems concentrating)

• Excessive feelings of worry, anxiety, fear, guilt, or paranoia

• Changes in sex drive

• Temper tantrums (especially in children)

• Suicidal thoughts (PLEASE SEEK HELP IMMEDIATELY)

In addition to therapy, there are some ways to help maintain your mental health–such as: Getting 7-8 hours of sleep, drinking water, working out for at least 30 minutes a day, taking a break, getting yourself a little treat and keeping your room/space clean. I think everyone is usually sympathetic for those suffering with their mental health until it comes to cleanliness. It is sad because that’s the #1 indicator for people I’ve come across who are struggling and with myself. Personally, my room starts looking chaotic with clothes. They’re clean, but they’re everywhere. Some people struggle with this for dirty clothes. It all looks the same though. Others sometimes stop brushing their teeth or showering or let dishes pile up everywhere. Don’t harshly judge others due to this—some of them are deciding between skipping showers or dying. They chose to stay and try. Their fight may not look appealing to you, but they’re trying and I’m so glad they chose to stick around. So let’s save the judging for God and American Idol, okay?

Mental health has been talked about more than ever the last few years, which is great but so many unlicensed people are pretending to be gurus on what to do. I hope you didn’t get that from this blog because I haven’t even scratched the surface of what I should know or what I can learn in the coming years. If you’re mental health is on a rapid decline and you’re struggling with suicidal thoughts, please call The National Suicide Prevention Lifeline at 1-800-273-8255 or text BRAVE to 741741.

One micro-baby step in the right direction can help get the ball rolling sometimes. One thing I learned for sure is that people still need to feel hopeful during this time. When someone loses hope that’s usually when we lose the person. So even a glimpse at something getting better or something minor to make you feel better is just as important as all the other work you’ll do.

If you’re in SOUTH ALABAMA (or a surrounding area) and are struggling with some of the issues listed above (aside from suicide) these are the places I can recommend to help make you feel a little better (still look into therapy please, these are not permanent fixers by any means) :

-Dusted by DB to help with cleaning your room/home/space— she offers amazing rates! There is no judgment on her end, I promise.

Contact: [email protected]

-T.Heard’s Landscaping if you’re wanting your yard cleaned up, but don’t have the energy like you need.

Contact: [email protected] or theardslandscaping.com

-The Gym of Foley, if you’re wanting to start working out. It just opened and it’s judgment free. You’ll feel safe and comfortable!

Contact: (251)-943-5591

- MP Aesthetics & Beauty (contact: [email protected] ) AND Beauty Mo’d (contact: [email protected]) if you’re wanting to feel beautiful by treating yourself with a facial, waxing, or getting your eyebrows/lashes done.

-If you’re needing your nails done or maintenance care I recommend:

Ki Nailed It (contact: (251)-440-5562 and instagram: @ki__nailedit)

OR

Nailss by Kelss (contact: [email protected] and instagram: @NailssbyKelss)

I know some days are harder than others, but please don’t give up. If you just need someone to talk to on a non-professional, venting, I-need-to-get-this-off-my-chest-level feel free to message me…we’ll talk about it. Have a wonderful week!

self helphealinghappinessgoalsadvice
1

About the Creator

Neish

Hi! I’m Aneisha. I'm the author of the blog--We'll Talk About It! It releases every Tuesday. You can also find some short stories and poems I used to write, while you're waiting for the next blog post. <3

Instagram: @aneishabrackens

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.