Motivation logo

Many Hats

Which hat should I focus on today?

By Elizabeth CripePublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
Many Hats
Photo by Clem Onojeghuo on Unsplash

“I’m a single mom of three and finally saved up enough to leave my toxic relationship and move into an apartment. I’ve been here for five months, and I just found out that I must leave everything again...can you help? How do I find housing? How do I afford new toys for my kids? How do I afford the medical help I need? Please help, I feel alone and don’t know where to turn.” This is one of the many stories I hear time and time again.

I wake up

I make my coffee

I figure out which hat is the most important to wear first when I sit down at my computer. Do I put on the hat of Finance Coordinator? Manager? Event Coordinator? Marketing Manager? Counselor? Reviewer of Applications? Which is the most important to start with today?

I take a few deep breaths and sketch out the concepts for our social media platforms for the week.

I smile as I see another expert is willing to do an Interview for our YouTube Channel.

I take a deep breath as I dive into a call with another mom going through hell.

I stretch and walk a few thousand steps.

I get a phone call from a vendor for the next event and cringe at the cost quoted; it won’t work without some big sponsors.

I refill my coffee cup and get my kids ready for their day.

I dive into application review. Again, more people forgot to send the appropriate attachments; I let them know.

I get the luxury and privilege of sending a “Congratulations, your children’s shopping spree is in the mail and on the way: here is your tracking #”.

I get the sense of hope and hesitation as I let another couple know their application has been accepted but they are on the waitlist.

I breathe again, and I get my kids started with their homeschooling. I then dive into my homework for a Boot-Camp on Fundraising (Last semester it was Grant Writing). Did I forget to mention that hat earlier? Grant Writer.

I look at our projected income and realize that I am not getting a paycheck again this month, if I do it’ll be minimal. How can we get more monthly donors? Without looking desperate.

Why?! Why would I work 40-60 hours a week, doing what a team of 8 should do? Because of the smiles from moms who are able to take their kids shopping for toys or clothing. The tears, from the 11-year-old who received his gift cards and asked his mom, "why would they do this? they don't even know us?!" Because everyone goes through shit at some point and hopefully, they will pay it forward when they're on their feet again.

Why?! Why would I work 40-60 hours a week, doing what a team of 8 should do? With no promise of a paycheck? Because I’ve been there. My family was a family in so many of the stories I’ve heard. We literally lost everything overnight and were homeless; with a 1- and 3-year-old. My family felt broken, alone, and hopeless. No one should ever feel that way. No child should ever have to wonder why they had to walk away from every doll, blanket, toy that they ever loved. So, as my family healed and found our feet; this was the only option.

My children need to see courage in action, they need to see healing from brokenness; they need to see their mom help others. Co-Founding and being the Executive Director of a Non-Profit was the only option.

healing
1

About the Creator

Elizabeth Cripe

I have lived an incredible life! I've travelled the world, was an English teacher, lived through multiple life threatening illnesses and accidents. I am the CEO of a non-profit, a mom of two amazing kids, a proud linewife and a Jesus lover.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.