Motivation logo

Making the best of 2024

A slightly optimistic view on the future.

By AnniePublished 3 months ago 3 min read
1

In October this year I will be 44 years old. As an 80's child I was weirdly interested in stationery. I had 30 pen pals at one point, and my mother had to cut back on my stamps. My favorite part of school was writing essays. The words just poured out with my pen, I never had to think much about the content. I don't really know how good my stories were, but the teacher always seemed pleased. Growing up I had times where I wanted to write a book, to this day I never have finished writing one. I have started several books, but never got far before I started something else. With this in mind, I decided that 2024 will be the year I finish one. I will write with more purpose, I will reach my goals and be more serious about making a career of writing.

I like writing articles, short stories, blog posts. My written language has always been stronger than my speaking language. I explain things better, I feel free to say whatever comes to mind. I also really enjoy making up story plots and characters. What is better than planning out what the characters will have to endure in their story? Finding their personalities, how they speak and react. I am a huge horror fan. Horror, thriller, action and mysteries are my top genres. But I also love the romance stories, and this year I really want to dedicate my time to these genres. The main goal have to be to finish all my stories, and not make new ones before I finish what I started. I found Vocal very recently, and immediately had to get started here, I find it very motivating to have a community, challenges and a possible audience. I guess all writers can relate to the part where we want people to read our stories, and it is pretty competitive. It is great to get some feedback, and a community like this is a great way to achieve this. My goals this year is to get better at writing compelling stories, solid characters that my readers will love and possibly hate too. I want to write more than ever, and I am eager to complete my work. Finding my voice, my style and learn more about what my most effective work strategies are. I need to find out what I have to do in order to actually complete my work, and I am optimistic about that. My main focus the next months will be to write stories on Vocal to gain an audience, get comments and feedback. Maybe it will boost my confidence, maybe not. But I will put it out there to find out. Writing is a highly valued part of my life even if I just write for fun. I feel so free and creative while I write. Well, as long as I'm in a flow of course.

I have another writing dream too, and that is screenplays. I would love to write a movie for Netflix. It is more like a secondary goal though. I guess it is a pretty big goal for someone who never finishes the books she started. I know a lot of authors have tried and failed so many times before they succeed. And that process may be hard. I am ready for that, and I will learn from the mistakes I make. I guess it's important to remember that no other writer will tell a story like you do, and that is why it will always be room for new writers in the world.

To sum it up, my main goal is to write more than I did last year. To finish my stories, and to post a lot of stories at Vocal to be better and grow as a writer. In the end of this year I hope I have self published at least one book. I have more ideas than I can write, maybe I'll make an e book with writing prompts for other writers to enjoy.

goals
1

About the Creator

Annie

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.