Motivation logo

Living Life in the Jungle--Off-Grid

Searching for Lost Treasures

By Freddie's Lost TreasuresPublished 11 months ago Updated 11 months ago 3 min read
1
The Treasure is Here...The Search in ON!!! #Cambodian Jungle Life

It all started with wanting to get away from the typical 9 to 5 and reconnecting with myself. Not knowing what I would encompass, I researched for a few months on where I should go to explore. I gave myself a few things I had to have, that, at the time, seemed important. Most importantly, I wanted a place with a low cost of living and a place with relative ease of movement (the freedom to go from one place to another without much hassle). The next thing I thought would matter, would be a country that dealt in the US Dollar. I found that there were a final set of contestants for me, after searching high and low, and, ultimately, chose Cambodia.

I heard there was even a “Las Vegas” of the east in Cambodia. I soon discovered, it was far from what Las Vegas was, but nonetheless quite spicy in character. I found that this place was enamored in the most outlaw mindset imaginable. This place was Poipet. Poipet, Cambodia was and is, still, 7 years after initially visiting, a rough and tumble place. If you want to phase into the side of life that could make you wealthy fast, welcome to Poipet. From counterfeiting to cock fighting, gambling to trafficking, Poipet had it all. A real family-friendly town so to speak (sarcastically spoken). I thought to myself upon arrival that, being from Las Vegas, I had to experience Cambodia’s Las Vegas.

I thought, if I can be successful in Las Vegas, why would Poipet be any different. Whoa, was I wrong. Friendliness has a price to pay in Poipet. I lasted only a couple months before I decided this shanty town has taken enough out of me and it was time to move on. But, I digress, we will come back to visit Poipet later (future stories) as it has its advantages as well. One taxi ride later, I was in Phnom Penh.

“My friend, my friend”, if I was given 4000 Riel (Cambodia’s national currency) for every time I heard that, I might be a Cambodia millionaire. Phnom Penh, a city that seems to be moving in 37 different directions, at a pace so fast, they (the developers), think they can command New York City and Los Angeles prices in Real Estate, only to realize the structural integrity of the actual buildings are fading and falling apart after only 1 year of being built. Quality! Quality indeed.

Phnom Penh, the concrete jungle. Phnom Penh is a money-making town, with lax regulations and limited interference from government (as long as you pay your hidden fees), you can do whatever you please and make a killing. Amazing? Yes, but sometimes it doesn’t pan out and then what? Round 2? No, no, no…definitely, not for me. I do not want a fight on my hands. Traffic, pollution, and people willing to take advantage of you at a blink of an eye; you must choose your path carefully. I knew, after a year or so, I had to move on and find what I came searching for, lost treasure and undiscovered wealth beyond my wildest imagination.

As the train pulled into town, yes, a train, I knew Kampot had to be the place. It had this countryesque (is that a word?) feel to it. Still a backpacker type of town, it was what I was looking for and I bought in. Kampot had it all with the comforts of a relaxed laid-back lifestyle. Foreign food, a relatively young arts/entertainment scene, and a friendly vibe to it. Kampot felt like a town that I envisioned when I did my research from back home before I took the tube and flew over to the Kingdom of Wonder. Yet, another year passed and I wanted to move on as I knew it wasn’t quite the right fit. So, I slowly tuk-tukked my way over into Mondulkiri province. Perfect. Treasures to find are yet to come. Make the jump! Join the party. The story can now begin.

-----

Original story (created by me) published on Medium.com. Any changes and/or updates that have been added on Vocal.media are for content consumption purposes.

Thank you for your time, I hope you thoroughly enjoyed what you have read today. Please subscribe. I have plenty of upcoming articles on varying topics, if you so choose to check them out. Also if you would be so kind, I would greatly appreciate a heart. Lastly, if you feel inclined to do so, tips and of course pledges (currently only $2.99 a month) are greatly appreciated. Our monies collected in Vocal help support the Bunong tribal people in Cambodia.

healingsuccesshappiness
1

About the Creator

Freddie's Lost Treasures

A traveler in search of lost and hidden treasures. I have assembled a lifelong learning of being in the business world and decided to take a leap to see what is outside the confines of brick and mortar and left the 9 to 5 behind.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.