Motivation logo

Let "JOELIGHT" Shine

The start of it all

By Let JoeLight ShinePublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like

I've always been one of those wanna-be bloggers. You know, keep thinking about starting one and never getting started. Finally, after a men's Bible study, I think I found my path to what I want to start.

Before getting into what this blog will be all about, let me share how the title originated.

The church I attend has a wonderful neighborhood outreach. Most of the people living near the church are at or below the poverty level. One of their missions is a Community Night. On Community Night you can bring your entire family to have a hot meal, and these meals are prepared by volunteers guided by the chef of the church. Then you can stay for a time to worship and hear a powerful message, while the children are upstairs having fun and learning about Jesus.

Now, not to pass up a meal, I attend and support Community Night. I usually get there an hour early and read or maybe have a conversation or two with a volunteer before things get busy. Since I'm a creature of habit, I usually set at the same table each and every week. It's angled perfectly to where I can see the entire room. I am one of those that do enjoy a good round of people-watching. Of course, after some time of doing the same routine, I started getting a regular group that has come and joined me. I'm not bragging, but it has grown to two tables now.

This church has been truly blessed within the last year. It has a wonderful set of pastors with one being brand new to the congregation. The new pastor and I have made a really good connection since his arrival. We have talked on several occasions and he has made an effort to really get to know me. A few of those stories will arise in future writings. However, on a Community Night, at the table I normally sit at, he approached me and told me that there is a light that he sees at my table each and every week. A light that he has noticed has gotten bigger and bigger as each week passes. "Let Joe Light Shine", is what he spoke.

The more I thought about it the better I liked it. The more I thought about it the more I saw God working through this new pastor to get to me. After that particular Men's Bible study, I mentioned earlier. Where we talked about our own pain and suffering and how God uses that to benefit not only us but to minister to others. I see the pathway to where I need to at least get started.

Matthew 5:14-16 says, "You are the light of the world-like a city on a hilltop that cannot be hidden. No one lights a lamp and then puts it under a basket. Instead, a lamp is placed on a stand, where it gives light. In the same way, let your good deeds shine out for all to see, so that everyone will praise your heavenly Father."

It's not just my light, it's your light too. Let your light shine and put your name in where mine is at. I'm going to let mine shine by sharing all my pain. Romans 8:17 tells us, "And since we are his children, we are his heirs. In fact, together with Christ we are heirs of God's glory. But if we are to share his glory, we must also share his suffering." I have a ton of pain, some that have been building up over years and years of suffering. Most of it is being used by the enemy to tear me down and to tell me things that are not true.

After finally using Proverbs 27:17, "As iron sharpens iron, so a friend sharpens a friend." The men's Bible study showed me a pathway for many things to come. What is it? Where is it going? Only God has those answers. He has told me what I need to do for now and to hold on to what will be coming next.

Feel free to comment here or please drop me a message at [email protected]. I would love to hear from you and would also equally enjoy praying for you as well. "Confess your sins to each other and pray for each other so that you may be healed. The earnest prayer of a righteous person has great power and produces wonderful results." James 5:16.

happinessself helphealingadvice
Like

About the Creator

Let JoeLight Shine

Following the Gospel of Matthew 5:14-16 and encouraging everyone to find their light and let it shine so all of our lights can come together as one to glorify our savior Christ Jesus

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.