Writers logo

I Shall Write

Finding My Path

By Let JoeLight ShinePublished 15 days ago 3 min read
Like

Ever get that feeling like there is something in life you need to be doing? Strangely enough, mine is writing. I'm not a scholar. I owe more to student debt than what I learned. The only reason I read is because of my mother's influence. She read enough to where she educated herself in many things ranging from wood-burning art to burning CDs. In the middle of doing that, she read fiction literature. Mysteries were her favorite. Even though I will admit that I have learned much from reading, it is not my favorite thing to do. I tell you this because I believe that reading and writing are important to one another.

As I start my journey writing Articles on X, the writing part doesn't make me scared. Today's technology compensates for my lack of education. I use Grammarly to guide me through those simple mistakes. What makes me giggle inside is I should have paid more attention in English class. I make a ton of small mistakes. Now that I have an AI English teacher I need to figure out what to write about.

I feel that I may have a niche here somewhere. After watching months of countless videos, I know I have some features that stick out. I was born in 1965 the first year of Generation X. I think of ourselves as the guinea pigs of today's technologies. We started with vinyl records and telephones with cords that connected to walls. As teenagers, we had to experience Disco music and polyester pants. The biggest memory of all is spending most of the daylight hours outside.

I live in the Midwest. It is difficult to explain why I mention this. After brief travels to different areas of the United States, I discovered that each part of the country has its personality. Here in the center of the country, we are laid-back and often treat strangers like we've known them forever. My favorite is that we experience all four seasons. Most of us have an old-school hardworking mentality that I often believe is the silent majority in America.

You need to know that I have an opinion about everything, and I like to express it. However, I do not want to come on here and talk about everything under the sun. Current events? Sports? Due to my lack of engineering knowledge, D.I.Y. projects are out of the question. I've been a cook my entire life and I like professional wrestling. I'd rather do live videos on all those topics because I can reach people with the sound of my voice. What passion do I have to put out into typed words?

The word, story, has been coming up recently. The church that I follow has been talking about people's stories. Not only the people of the Bible but everyone has a particular story that is only designed for themselves. I mentioned that pro wrestling is a passion. The current champion, Cody Rhodes, has just "finished his story" at Wrestlemania this year. I too have a story. It may not be full of action and I am not saving a damsel in distress. However, it is full of colorful characters, whimsical antidotes, and dealing with real life.

I spent most of my life operating restaurants. Being a manager, you need to get to know your staff and most importantly, your clientele. I never acquired the time or the skill set to be vulnerable enough to share my story. I ask myself over and over if my friends know me. I often wonder if I have shared enough personal experiences with my children to help them in their journey. Isn't that what life is all about? Sharing your story.

It's time to share my story. It is time to tell old friends, current friends, and even new future friends about my adventure. Share my experiences with family. Express my gratefulness for the people who crossed my path. Maybe, just maybe, someone might grab something I wrote as a message about what is happening in their lives. I'm not a philosopher. I am not even a Guru of my cult. I'm a person like everyone else in this world. I have a story. The only difference is I want to share mine. Enjoy

InspirationLife
Like

About the Creator

Let JoeLight Shine

Following the Gospel of Matthew 5:14-16 and encouraging everyone to find their light and let it shine so all of our lights can come together as one to glorify our savior Christ Jesus

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.