Motivation logo

Influencers Overload

Is that your educated decision or you have been influenced? What you can do about it.

By Agron MorinaPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like
Influencers Overload
Photo by Victoriano Izquierdo on Unsplash

When you are glancing around the internet, anywhere you click you will see one thing only. Influence. It’s all over there, everyone is trying to influence your decisions. Who to follow, who to unfollow?

Companies claim they have the most efficient solutions. Traders say they sell the best product, professionals say they offer the best advice. Even amateur YouTubers claim they have the best solution. It’s close to impossible to distinguish what is good and what is not today. It’s very difficult to come up with an educated decision.

There are some very good sites and professional reviewers I have stumbled upon, but the truth is that these good sites and a bunch of honest bloggers are under the shadow of influencers. These claimers are so many and so active on the internet that somehow, they have managed to beat the google algorithm and are dominating the web.

Influencers - which are good, and which are not?

I mean look at all these so-called influencers they have millions of subscribers and many more are joining them just because they have that many followers. Yes, there are fake followers, fake likes, and artificial views and that is something to be concerned about. But that’s not my business it’s googles business.

Let’s have a look for a second at the good influencers. Are these influencers good indeed? Or are they still authentic and original as they were a few years ago? Well, yes and no. It depends on how rational you are in your decisions.

Yes. Because they are very successful to convince their viewers to purchase something.

No. Because they have shifted toward money and fame, and they don’t care anymore about you or your feelings.

Both answers are correct, the problem though is that it’s you the viewers who are losing all the time. It is very difficult to know if the things they are recommending are of true value. When you look at it “The most productive tool” or “the most efficient service” is the one that is sponsoring their video.

If you are not rational about your decisions, you are going to find yourself buying all the apps and services they recommend only to realize that they were not what you need indeed.

What to do about it

You should come with your system of choices. Be cool, be smart, and be very selective.

Be yourself. Be authentic

Take your time and build up your system. A simple Excel spreadsheet can help a lot. Just write down a few dos and don’ts. Don’t try to make it perfect, you can come back later and improve your system over time. I have built my system for years, and today I am very grateful for that. Perhaps it saved me thousands of hours and thousands of dollars in one year I don’t know. But what I know for sure is that the system works well.

I would love to tell you how to make one for yourself, but it just doesn’t work that way. Because nobody can tell you how to build your system, nobody knows your needs, desires, or requirements. I mean I can give you some tips for free on how to get started but I am very certain that you know much better than me what you want from yourself and what you don’t. My point is, don’t allow somebody else to influence your system.

If you think that it’s not worth it because influencers are just like illusionists which have mastered the art of illusion, they make the rabbit come out of the hat and I am enjoying it. Then that's fine too. Just enjoy the show. After all, who doesn’t want to have some fun after a long and productive day at work?

This is what I am doing and having a lot of fun while doing it. When I have something that I don’t agree with them or a product that I have tried, and it didn’t work as it claimed to work, I don’t post a comment on their channel. And this is for two reasons. One is that they are not going to like my comment and delete it immediately. And second, even if they don’t delete my comment, why should they benefit from my opinion, when I don’t benefit from their opinion?

Read more at my personal blog Eksperienca.com

advicesocial mediaself helpproduct reviewhow to
Like

About the Creator

Agron Morina

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.