Motivation logo

I Will Try

again and again and again

By Amelia PorterPublished 4 years ago 2 min read

I am trying. Truly, I am.

I take the pills and potions that are recommended. I am following guidelines and taking advice. I am desperate to find a way out of this haze, out of this hole. But I am so tired.

I am tired in ways I can't describe. A bone-aching tired. A tired that makes it impossible to do simple tasks. A tired that makes standing up from bed seem impossible. A tired that I can't describe fully or sleep away. I wake up as exhausted as I was when I first fell into bed. There is no escape.

So I try taking the prescription medications (two different kinds, "better together!" they tell me), and probiotic potions. I try getting a daily dose of sunlight, even if it is artificially produced by a light box. I try to exercise, to eat and eat well, to find some motivation to attend to any kind of "self-care". I try to remember to smile in public, and to make sure I bathe regularly. I see my therapist as often as I can afford to, which isn't nearly as often enough, and I'm trying to be honest with my husband about my needs. But I am sure that I need too much.

One day, soon I am sure, he will look around at the mess that is me and decide that he can't abide by it anymore. I have always been sad, I tell him. I thought being together would make you happy, he would explain. And then he would tell me to leave. And how could I blame him? I know I'm exhausting to be around. I know that I'm not what he hoped to have in a partner. But what more can I do? I'm trying.

Tomorrow morning I will listen to my alarm, and spend 10 minutes meditating, forcing the negative thoughts out of my head while I try to focus on the breath. I will stretch and try to be rooted to the ground, breathe through the motions, and force the negative thoughts out with each asana. I will sit with my first cup of coffee and light box as I write my never ending to-do list for the day, always finding more to do than can possibly be done. I will take my medication. I will eat breakfast and take my probiotic and my vitamins. I will try again, and again, and again.

I will try to be happy. I will try to be the wife that my husband expected. I will try to be the friend that my friends deserve. I will try to be present and positive and move beyond the exhaustion. To find more reasons to try.

self help

About the Creator

Amelia Porter

I'm a momma, a maker, a musician, and a bibliophile that lives in eastern Pennsylvania. I enjoy writing about my life observations, the adventures I find myself on, and the way we can all move forward together.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Amelia PorterWritten by Amelia Porter

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.