Motivation logo

I was just fine

The Biography

By HaisamPublished about a year ago 3 min read
6
I was just fine
Photo by Yanal Tayyem on Unsplash

"I was just fine," I repeated to myself as I lay in bed, staring up at the ceiling. It was a phrase I had been telling myself for weeks now, trying to convince myself that everything was alright.

But the truth was, everything was not fine. I had been struggling with anxiety for months, and it was getting worse. I couldn't sleep at night, my heart was always racing, and I was constantly on edge.

I didn't want to tell anyone about it. I didn't want to be a burden or seem weak. So I kept it all to myself, putting on a brave face and pretending that everything was okay.

It wasn't until one day at work that I realized I couldn't keep it bottled up any longer. I was in a meeting with my boss and a few other colleagues when I suddenly felt like I was suffocating. My heart was pounding so fast and so hard that I thought it was going to burst out of my chest.

I tried to calm myself down, but it only made things worse. My hands were shaking, and I could feel tears welling up in my eyes. I excused myself from the meeting, telling everyone that I wasn't feeling well and needed to go home.

Once I was in my car, I broke down. I cried so hard that I thought I might never stop. I knew that I needed help, but I didn't know where to turn.

It wasn't until a few days later that I finally mustered up the courage to reach out to a therapist. I was hesitant at first, worried about what people would think. But I soon realized that seeking help was one of the bravest things I could do.

At my first session, I broke down in tears as I told my therapist about everything I had been going through. He listened patiently and offered me some techniques to help manage my anxiety. He also assured me that I wasn't alone, and that seeking help was a sign of strength.

Over the next few weeks, I continued to see my therapist and work through my anxiety. It wasn't easy, and there were many times when I felt like giving up. But I persisted, knowing that I needed to take care of myself in order to live a full and happy life.

During this process, I started to realize how much I had been neglecting myself. For years, I had been putting everyone else's needs before my own, and it had taken a toll on my mental health. I started to make changes in my life, setting boundaries and making time for self-care.

Slowly but surely, things started to improve. I slept better at night, my heart no longer racing with worry. I felt more confident in my interactions with others, no longer questioning every word that came out of my mouth.

One day, I was out for a walk when I realized something amazing. I was just fine. For the first time in months, I felt calm and at peace. I wasn't worrying about the future or dwelling on the past. I was simply enjoying the present moment and all its beauty.

Of course, I knew that I would still have bad days. Anxiety is not something that just goes away overnight. But I also knew that I had the tools to manage it, and the support of loved ones who were cheering me on every step of the way.

The journey to mental wellness is not an easy one, but it is a worthwhile one. I learned that it's okay to ask for help when you need it, and that vulnerability is not a weakness, but a strength.

Looking back on my journey, I feel grateful for everything that I went through. It taught me so much about myself and what it means to truly take care of yourself. And now, when someone asks me how I'm doing, I can honestly say, "I'm just fine."

happinesssuccessself helphealing
6

About the Creator

Haisam

Stories transport us to different worlds and expose us to unique perspectives. They inspire us to think outside the box and encourage us to dream big. I will try my best to write the story for you which has emotions and connect you with it.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • sara khawajaabout a year ago

    Superior work✨

  • Mahir Nadeemabout a year ago

    ❤️ Outstanding

  • Muzammil tariqabout a year ago

    Heart touching ❤️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.