Motivation logo

How to Use Positive Affirmations

Using Affirmations

By Anna GravettPublished 10 months ago 4 min read
1
How to Use Positive Affirmations
Photo by Viktor Forgacs on Unsplash

It is highly probable that I may not possess the necessary intelligence to perform this job satisfactorily.

I am perplexed as to why my superior has entrusted me with the responsibility of conducting the presentation. My public speaking skills are inadequate, and I fear that I may bring disrepute to the team.

I wish to assert myself in the workplace. However, I find myself unable to defend my ideas during meetings, which may impede my progress.

Negative thoughts can have a detrimental impact on our confidence, mood, and outlook. They can also become self-fulfilling prophecies, leading to negative consequences in our personal and professional lives. Conversely, positive thoughts can have a powerful and beneficial effect on our lives.

Affirmations are positive statements that can help us overcome negative thoughts and self-sabotaging behavior. By repeating them frequently and believing in them, we can bring about positive changes in our lives.

Affirmations are not unrealistic wishful thinking but are akin to exercises for our mind and outlook. They can reprogram our thinking patterns, leading to a change in our behavior and actions.

Research suggests that affirmations can improve our performance at work, mitigate the effects of stress, and treat mental health conditions such as depression and low self-esteem. They can also stimulate the areas in our brains that encourage positive changes in our health and well-being. The utilization of affirmations is a recommended practice for enhancing one's mental and emotional well-being.

The following guidelines elucidate the proper utilization of positive affirmations:

Affirmation statements are typically aimed at a specific area, behavior, or belief that one is struggling with. The following guidelines can assist in crafting an affirmation statement that is most suitable for one's needs.

Firstly, contemplate the aspects of your life that you desire to alter. For instance, do you wish to possess more patience, establish deeper relationships with your friends and colleagues, or have a more productive workday? Jot down several areas or behaviors that you would like to work on. Ensure that they align with your core values and the things that matter most to you, so that you are genuinely motivated to achieve them.

Secondly, ensure that your affirmation is credible and achievable. Base it on a realistic assessment of the facts. For example, if you are dissatisfied with your current salary, you could use affirmations to boost your confidence to ask for a raise. However, it would not be prudent to affirm to yourself that you will double your salary, as doubling one's earnings in one go is not feasible for most individuals and organizations. Keep it realistic! After all, affirmations are not magic spells - if you cannot believe in them, they are unlikely to impact your life.

Thirdly, transform negatives into positives. If you are grappling with negative self-talk, note down the persistent thoughts or beliefs that are troubling you. Then, select an affirmation that is the opposite of that thought or belief. For instance, if you habitually think, "I am not talented enough to progress in my career," turn this around and write a positive affirmation such as, "I am a skilled and experienced professional."

Fourthly, write your affirmation in the present tense. Write and speak your affirmation as if it is already happening. This helps you to believe that the statement is true right now. For example, "I am well-prepared and well-rehearsed, and I can give a great presentation" would be an excellent affirmation to use if you feel nervous speaking in front of a group.

Lastly, say it with feeling. Affirmations can be more effective when they carry emotional weight. You need to want this change to happen, so every affirmation that you choose to repeat should be a phrase that is meaningful to you. For example, if you are apprehensive about a new project that you have been assigned, you could tell yourself, "I am genuinely excited to take on new challenges."

Illustrative Examples of Affirmations

As per the definition, affirmations are personal and tailored to one's goals or aspirations. However, the following examples may serve as a source of inspiration:

1. I possess abundant creativity to excel in this project.

2. My superiors and colleagues will acknowledge my work positively.

3. I am capable of achieving this task.

4. My team holds my opinions in high regard.

5. I am a successful individual.

6. I maintain honesty in both my personal and professional life.

7. I derive satisfaction from completing tasks and projects within the stipulated time.

8. I am grateful for my current employment.

9. I derive pleasure from working with my team.

10. I approach work with a positive attitude every day.

11. I excel in my field of expertise.

12. I possess resilience.

13. I am not hesitant to assert myself.

14. I will emerge as a leader in my organization.

15. I take pride in my accomplishments.

To use affirmations effectively, we must identify the areas of our lives that we wish to change and create credible and achievable affirmation statements that are the opposite of our negative thoughts. We must repeat them several times a day and use them alongside other strategies such as visualization and goal setting.

It is important to note that affirmations are most effective when we have high self-esteem. If we have low self-esteem, positive affirmations may have a negative impact on us. In such cases, we must work on boosting our self-esteem before using affirmations.

self helpquoteshealinggoalsadvice
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

Anna Gravett is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.