Motivation logo

How To Be Consistent?

“Success isn’t always about greatness. It’s about consistency. Consistent hard work leads to success. Greatness will come.” — Dwayne Johnson

By Adarsh Kumar SinghPublished 12 months ago 3 min read
1
How To Be Consistent?
Photo by lucas Favre on Unsplash

Who doesn’t want to learn things?

Who doesn’t want to stand out in this crowd?

Who doesn’t want to be skilled?

Obviously, everyone does. Each one of us wants to pick up a few skills and stand out in this crowded world of talented individuals. But what differentiates these talented and skilled individuals from the rest is that they choose to be consistent in their pursuit.

I hope we can all agree that it is consistency, not a lack of talent, that distinguishes us. We are not born with extra talent or skills. Always remember that.

I've struggled to do things repeatedly for days, weeks, and months at times in my life, and that's where I failed. But there are times that I have done things repeatedly with consistency, commitment, and focus, and I was able to master the art, and now I love doing that.

In many areas, I have utterly failed. One such futile attempt was learning how to play musical instruments. I spent about a year trying to learn how to play the flute and tabla, with several lengthy gaps in between. Even though I purchased a flute to further my practice, numerous ifs and buts prevented it from happening.

Then there are other skills I have honed over time. One is drawing. My family members (my aunts) deserve full credit for this talent of mine because they were brilliant at sketching and painting, and perhaps they served as my inspiration. I have always been involved with drawing and painting since I was a young child. I oversaw the art group in both high school and college, planned activities, built sets, entered competitions, and sometimes even took home the prize.

Then there is the skill of long-distance running that I consciously pursued in preparation for the defense forces. Long-distance running was challenging at first, but with consistency, I became quite good at it.

Another such talent that needed a lot of effort, resolve, and obviously, consistency was playing volleyball and later serving as the team’s captain for three years during my graduation and post-graduate years. It took daily practice for two to three hours to get proficient at it, but it paid off in the end.

I’m currently trying to devote all of my time to reading books, creating articles, and honing my public speaking skills. I’m hoping to get better at it and eventually master them all by being consistent.

I’ve tried a lot of things over the years because I enjoy staying busy. I’ve succeeded in some and failed miserably in others.

By Venti Views on Unsplash

Being consistent is an important quality to cultivate, as it can help you achieve your goals and build trust with others. Here are some tips for being more consistent:

Set clear goals: Having specific and achievable goals can help you stay focused and motivated.

Make a plan: Break your goals down into smaller tasks and create a plan for how to accomplish them. This can help you stay on track and make consistent progress.

Track your progress: Keeping track of your progress can help you stay motivated and see how far you’ve come. It can also help you identify any obstacles that may be hindering your consistency.

Be accountable: Tell someone else about your goals and ask them to hold you accountable. This can help you stay on track and feel more motivated to follow through.

Stay focused: It can be easy to get sidetracked or distracted. Try to minimize distractions and stay focused on your goals.

Persevere: It’s normal to have setbacks or face challenges. Don’t let them discourage you. Instead, stay positive and persevere in your efforts to be consistent.

Have patience! If it was really so easy to be consistent, then the whole world will be doing it right now. Focus on your goal, and get going. You can do it.

successself helphow tohappinessgoalsadvice
1

About the Creator

Adarsh Kumar Singh

Indian Air Force II Manager of Operations @Caliche II Driving Operational Excellence and Business Success II Building an R&D model

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.