Motivation logo

How I Learned To Time Travel

An unexpected journey through the past brought me from frustration to fulfillment.

By Jenna TiddPublished 8 months ago 3 min read
Like
Photo by Collin Hardy on Unsplash

In writing my last article (which you can read right here), I made a profound discovery: I can time travel.

I feel like a magician — or a mad scientist. One or the other. I don’t think it matters which. (Important note: No crazy machines were involved.)

When I sat down at my computer to write that day, I had a mental block — a big one. It seemed like my mind had turned to mud and nothing good was going to come out of it.

(Anyone else have those moments?) 🙋‍♀️🤦‍♀️

After going through my normal stages of frustration and self-criticism (all of which I think will accomplish something but never does), I realized there was nothing left to do but go back to basics.

❇️ Why am I writing?

❇️ What do I want to feel from my writing?

❇️ What am I writing about, and how does it make me feel?

I sat back and shut my eyes, focusing only on the subject at hand. Slowly, all the feelings and emotions I wanted to come from my piece began welling up inside of me. My mind sparked with a memory of where these feelings first began for me. The memory unfolded in my mind like a movie, and began flowing from my fingers onto the screen.

I wasn’t just retelling a story. I was reliving it. I was a little girl again, sitting on a wooden floor at my mother’s feet. I could feel every sensation.

And then, the movie in my head changed to the next story, and the next. With each one, I moved through time to another part of my life, reliving it all over again, yet seeing myself in a new light at the same time.

In the span of an hour and a half, I time traveled through many moments in my life, following a common theme that connected each one.

When my mental movie finally ended, I was drained and exhausted. I felt vulnerable and exposed, ready to cry without understanding why.

What was happening to me? Was something wrong?

Then, it came to me. I hadn’t just remembered incidents throughout my life. I had felt the pain and happiness of each one. I felt the joy of good moments and a sadness that there weren’t more of them.

I managed to capture each story in just a few sentences, but I could have written on and on about them. (And you know, there’s nothing a writer loves more than writing on and on.😉)

As I contemplated my unexpected emotions and wiped away a few tears, my anxiety began to leave. I wasn’t afraid that something was wrong with me anymore. In fact, quite the opposite.

I had poured my heart and life out onto the page, infusing every word with feelings that sprang from the core of who I am.

It’s no wonder I was drained.

But I also felt satisfied. Deep down in my gut, I felt an incredible sense of fulfillment as if I had achieved something great for the first time — and I had.

I was honest with myself more than ever before, and I captured thoughts, feelings, and energy in words.

To me, that’s a great accomplishment. That’s the magic of writing.

And time travel made it happen.

I never believed in time travel or had much of an interest in it before, but this is the kind I can get behind.

Photo by Artem Kovalev on Unsplash

healinghappiness
Like

About the Creator

Jenna Tidd

Health/wellness content writer and copyeditor with 10 years of healthcare experience and a lifelong interest in fitness, natural remedies, and the mind-body connection. Get professional content with a personal touch. [email protected].

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.