Motivation logo

How Did I Kick Overthinking Out of My Life

Life lessons from an ex-over thinker which could help you overcome overthinking

By Rajesh VairapandianPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
Image by Gerd Altmann from Pixabay

I was an over thinker, I have no shame in telling this. During my college days, I overthink everything. Here are a few “gems”!

If there is a misunderstanding between me and my friend we both don't speak for some days, my “over thinker” [I named it as devil] inside me wakes up immediately. Then, it is between me and my devil all the time.

My devil speaks to me in many ways which ruin my mind first and then the friendship

My devil speaks to me all night and gifted me sleepless nights

My devil does not allow my brain to relax

My devil made me a slave for my own thoughts

and MORE.

Humans are made up of thoughts. Thinking makes us differ from other mammals. But the real issue arises when we overthink. When we overthink we repeat the same situation or the spoken words again and again in our mind like a movie and create an unhealthy vibe around us. It impacts our mental health to the core. It brings in anxiety.

We are unable to focus on the present moment and eventually, our happiness gets a huge hit. When we rerun the past horrible moments it brings more and more negativity into our mental space which turns into mental illness.

The following are the few practices that have helped me to kick the overthinking out of my life permanently.

You cannot control everything

When we overthink, we try to control things that are not in our reach. If you are an over thinker who wants to get rid of overthinking, the first thing you should do is get the understanding of “you cannot control everything” stuff. When I say “everything”, it means you cannot control others, their emotions, situations, your past, and future.

This should be the first thing you need to understand and try to affirm it on a daily basis. If you do so, you won half of your inner battle. We tend to control everything and keep repeating it in our mind again and again, by doing so we do much harm to our mental peace. Take a pause and keep saying to yourself that you cannot control everything, it will be a big relief for you.

You will feel like a 50 kg load is off from your shoulder immediately.

Take away: Affirm every day that you cannot control everything

Your brain needs rest

When you overthink, you will get hell lot of thoughts popping up like bubbles. One after other popping out of your mind which makes your brain working tirelessly. Your brain needs rest. If you really want to get rid of overthinking, you should give enough rest to your brain. When you feel you think too much, shift your focus to your hobby or passion. If your passion is painting, do it. If your passion is writing, write 100 words. If your passion is playing guitar, play that music. If you think you have no talent, go for a long walk.

When you walk if you feel your brain is active and trying to overthink, shift your focus on your path, see the clouds, see those trees or try to find a butterfly.

When you shift the focus you give a rest to your brain. Your unnecessary thoughts will fade away. You will get a fresh feel.

My passion was playing cricket then. When I overthink, I take my cricket kit and walk to the cricket ground, keep playing cricket for hours. When I come back home, all my overthinking thought patterns have vanished and I feel much relaxed.

Take Away: Shift your focus on your passion or hobby

Avoid “What If”

The biggest challenge for the over thinkers is “what if”.

What if this situation becomes worse?

What if my boyfriend/girlfriend doesn’t like this dress?

What if society criticizes my fat body?

What if I fail?

These are a few examples of thinking, it is common for a human to think this at least once in a lifetime. But the actual issue begins when we keep thinking over and over on the same what-ifs.

During my college days, statistics was my toughest subject and I kept on thinking “what if” I fail statistics in every semester. For the record, I failed in my first five semesters. There is no doubt what we think we become. I kept on thinking a negative thing that has been manifested by the Universe.

When your mind tries to repeat the what-ifs, the best way to stop is, close your eyes for two minutes and repeat your best moments of life. You could have won a chess game, you could have got the best employee award, just think those best moments and repeat it again and again for two minutes. When you do so, your body and soul shifts to a positive vibration. When you are in a positive state, your what-ifs will be knocked out.

Take Away: Close your eyes for two minutes and think about your best moments

These are the three key issues one needs to fix and overcome overthinking. This is how I kicked overthinking out of my life and living a life filled with good thinking. Everything can be achieved through consistent practice. If you keep doing this practice for a month or so, you will start seeing a positive change in your life. Very soon, your overthinking devil will leave you and you will live a peaceful life.

Give a try and don't overthink how you are going to achieve a peaceful life 😉

how to
Like

About the Creator

Rajesh Vairapandian

Poet, Writer, Amazon Best Selling Author, Life Coach(https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCUKBx7MnTXBhOE6xjSOFf0Q/?sub_confirmation=1) & a Magical Soul :)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.