Motivation logo

How astrological signs can truly define who you are.

Just like your name, astrological signs can define your future. Here's how.

By KunipatootiePublished 3 years ago 3 min read

"Sorry, I don't believe in astrological signs."

That is the very sentence I often hear people say when the subject of astrological signs is brought up. And funny enough... I'd say the same. But although I don't believe in magic, I do believe that one's astrological sign can define one's future. Here's how.

When I was young, a teacher told us a story about a young Inuit boy who was struggling to fit in with the rest of his community. As an orphan, no one was around to teach him how to hunt, and his inexperience greatly affected his confidence. As a result, he was scared to express his opinions, and this caused a vicious cycle of bullying and self-doubt.

Until one day, an elder saw his desolate state and decided to help him. He said:

"Little one, here is a set of leopard seal teeth that have been flattened on one side. Throw them in the air and see how they land. If they all land face up, you will be a great hunter in the future."

But the truth was, there wasn't exactly a flattened side, so either way, it would land the same way. The boy, not knowing this, threw the set of teeth in the air and stared intently at how they landed on the snow. Since he couldn't really tell, his mind decided that yes, they all landed on the flat side. Believing that he was blessed by the gods, his confidence soared, and he soon bgan practicing his hunting skills again.

Then one winter, a heavy blizzard hit their settlement, and the hunters had a hard time bringing back any prey. The young boy, however, was not afraid of such a small obstacle and soon brought home the biggest seal they had ever seen. His diligence and newfound confidence had bore fruit, and he was even able to feed everyone in times of need.

(Okay sorry, drifting a little off topic here). But if you look closely, we can see a strong link with astrology. Each astrological sign is linked with a (somewhat vague but positive) personality trait, and unconsciously, we can be influenced by the belief that this description may be true.

A good example would be my high school years. I was a shy little immigrant at the time, scared of talking to people due to my language barrier. One morning, my mom brought home a newspaper called "24 hours", and on the very last page, an astrologist was analyzing people's personalities' and daily fortune. Low and behold, my eyes soon fixated upon the "Aries" section. It said something along the lines of:

"Today, you will be able to break through your fears and achieve greatness. Remember that rams are brave and stubborn at heart. You can achieve anything."

All of a sudden, I felt invincible. I went to school with my head held up a little higher that day, and even made the initiative to introduce myself to some of my classmates. In fact, that simple line lit up a fire in my heart and gave me so much power and confidence that I can still reap its benefits today.

Similarly, people who know the meaning behind their name will often subconsciously emulate its traits. Now some may say: "This is proof that astrology is true!" While others will argue that "It's just vague words of encouragement." The adult in me would agree that it's rubbish at times, but the child in me will believe its every word and feel lifted up by the idea that something beyond me is protecting me. And that, my friends, is the beauty of astrology. It's a door to your imagination and a window that lets in little bursts of sunshine in the morning.

Sure, I'm not a believer, but you bet I love em'.

Astrology, I 'heart' you!

advice

About the Creator

Kunipatootie

Heya, nice to meet you! As a professional overthinker and overall awkward person, emotions can be difficult to manage sometimes. Writing and music are two outlets I've loved since childhood, and I don't think I'll be stopping anytime soon.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    KunipatootieWritten by Kunipatootie

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.