Motivation logo

Homeless Encounter

A Life-Changing Moment

By R.FreyaPublished 12 months ago 3 min read
Like
Homeless Encounter
Photo by Matt Collamer on Unsplash

I remember one small moment from my life that had a profound impact on me. It was a chilly autumn morning, and I was walking to my local coffee shop to grab a latte before starting my day. As I walked, I noticed a homeless man sitting on the sidewalk, holding a sign that read, "Anything helps. God bless."

I had seen homeless people before, of course, but this particular man caught my attention. Perhaps it was the way he was sitting, hunched over and dejected, or the way his sign was so simple and direct. Whatever the reason, I felt compelled to do something.

At first, I hesitated. I didn't have much money to spare, and I wasn't sure if giving him some loose change would really make a difference. But as I got closer, I noticed that he wasn't just asking for money. He was also asking for a kind word, a gesture of human connection in a world that had largely ignored him.

So, I took a deep breath and approached him. "Hey, do you want a coffee?" I asked, gesturing to the shop behind me. He looked up at me with surprise, then nodded tentatively. "Sure, that'd be nice," he said.

We walked together to the coffee shop, and I asked him what he wanted. He hesitated for a moment before asking for a black coffee. "I don't want to be a bother," he said softly. "Don't worry about it," I replied, smiling. "It's my treat."

As we waited for our drinks, we chatted about the weather and other small talk topics. He told me his name was Tom and that he had been homeless for a few years after losing his job and his apartment. He was trying to save up enough money for a bus ticket to go stay with his sister in another state.

When our drinks were ready, I paid for both and handed him his coffee. He thanked me, and we said goodbye. It was a small moment, but it stayed with me for a long time.

At first, I felt proud of myself for doing a good deed. But as I reflected on the encounter later, I realized that it wasn't just about the coffee or the money. It was about the act of connecting with another human being, even for just a few minutes.

In that moment, I saw Tom as a person, not just a homeless man. I saw his struggles and his humanity, and I felt a sense of empathy and compassion that I hadn't experienced before. It was a reminder that we all have a story, and we all deserve to be seen and heard.

That small moment with Tom had a big impact on me. It taught me that sometimes, the most meaningful moments in life are the ones we almost miss. It reminded me of the power of human connection and the importance of empathy and kindness. And it showed me that even small acts of generosity and compassion can have a ripple effect on the world around us.

In the years since that encounter, I've tried to carry that lesson with me in my daily life. I've made an effort to be more present and attentive to the people around me, to listen more and judge less, and to approach the world with a spirit of kindness and generosity.

Of course, I'm not perfect, and I still have plenty of moments where I fall short of this ideal. But that encounter with Tom was a small reminder that every moment is an opportunity to connect, to learn, and to grow. And for that, I am grateful.

happiness
Like

About the Creator

R.Freya

Poetry is my soul's language, and I wield words like a paintbrush. From heartbreak to hope, I capture emotions and spin them into verse.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.