Motivation logo

Graham Lutz: Author and Speaker Drawing From His Personal Experience and Scientific Research to Help Others Change Their Limiting Narratives

From Limiting Beliefs to Intellectual Humility - Join Graham Lutz on a Journey of Personal Growth and Liberation

By Graham LutzPublished 8 months ago 3 min read
Like
Graham Lutz

Our brains are wired to avoid discomfort.

Often, we hold on to beliefs that do not align with reality or limit us from our potential because, to us, they are “right.” To think that we might be wrong is uncomfortable. However, embracing the idea of being wrong can become the beginning of a journey to the liberation of our minds.

Intellectual humility and cultivating an openness to changing your mind can lead to personal growth, improved relationships, and enhanced well-being.

For the first 25 years of my life, I held on tightly to the beliefs I was raised with. My worldview was limited and left little room for doubt. Growing up in a conservative religious environment meant that my perspectives were kept narrow, and I had no reason to change my mind or consider learning other people’s views. In essence, change was not something I considered—until my own journey of transformation began.

Learning to Unlearn

Amidst financial challenges escalated by the 2008 economic crisis, I made a bold decision to further my studies. I went to Georgia State University as a biology and neuroscience major. College would be influential in my journey as it is where I started experiencing the clash between my conservative upbringing and the scientific evidence I encountered.

The turning point occurred during an introductory biology class when the professor introduced the concept of scientific theories with both explanatory and predictive power. This fundamental idea made me start questioning the validity of my deeply held beliefs. I realized that many concepts I had been taught needed more concrete evidence.

Over time, I began questioning more things and exploring the idea of being wrong. This was an uncomfortable and challenging process, but it allowed me to open my mind to new ideas.

Unlike before, I also formed connections with individuals from diverse backgrounds, which was a transformative experience. Sharing the same love for science with friends from different religions and backgrounds defied the stereotypes I had been taught. It shuttered my preconceived notions about people who were different from me.

Through these interactions, I began challenging my views about others. I saw limited beliefs can prevent one from growing in uncomfortable settings or bringing out one’s full potential in group settings.

From Being Right to Being Willing to Be Wrong

Today, misinformation spreads rapidly, and being biased limits us from objectively evaluating information. We are reluctant to be wrong, which is ingrained from childhood and fuelled by society and education systems prioritizing being “right.”

However, history has shown that progress is achieved when we’re willing to admit our mistakes and evolve our perspectives.

Recognize that being wrong is not a weakness but an opportunity to question limiting narratives, embrace intellectual humility, and learn a different view. The willingness to be wrong is an opportunity for growth.

Our brain’s instinct is to avoid discomfort, so you need courage to be wrong as it is a shift from your comfort zone. Nevertheless, it can lead to personal growth, improved relationships, and a better understanding of the world.

My transformative journey from rigid belief systems to curiosity and intellectual humility has equipped me to guide others in their transformational paths. Through social media and speaking engagements, I start conversations that most ignore or overlook. My experiences and scientific research inspire my teachings, and I aim to share tools, strategies, and insights that can enable you to break free from narratives that hold you back from achieving your full potential.

Currently, I am writing a booking that is putting it all into perspective.

Join me, and let’s navigate the complex landscape of beliefs, biases, and personal growth. When you embrace the power of transformation, you can reshape your story, build stronger connections, and live a more fulfilled life.

how toself helpbook reviewadvice
Like

About the Creator

Graham Lutz

I'm a storyteller, educator, and mental health advocate with a neuroscience background. My narratives challenge limiting beliefs, influenced by my ADHD, self-discovery, and religious deconstruction.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.