Motivation logo

Good Coach vs. Great Coach

If you like to understand what a good coach does vs. a great coach does, please read further.

By Ganesh KuduvaPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 3 min read
4

This article may be a good read for all existing coaches and aspiring coaches.

The other day, I received a call from one of my friends (who was a colleague at my workplace in the past). He shared a similar passion for the filming industry as much as I shared my passion for the health and wellness industry.

While he still continues to do a 9-5 job, he shared his interest to transform into a freelancer or a self-employed professional. He had called me because I have transitioned from being an IT professional to a full-time health and wellness coaching professional.

He even asked me if I could be his mentor in his transition.

Why am I sharing this? What's the context?

Whatever we do in our lives through our works, we leave a legacy. People remember us for what we did for them. Sometimes, more than what you really did, they would have seen your intentions.

That intention, in my view, acts as a source of inspiration for people. As a coach, you need not do outstanding things for your customers or clients. It is understood that you are doing your best for your customers. While you may be giving the best efforts, your recipients will figure out your true intentions quickly as you do your work over time.

Coming back to health and wellness coaching world, I have been doing it for about 6+ years now.

I am personally evolving in the coaching world as I serve different types of customers with different objectives and goals that they come up with.

Through these works, I discovered something that I want to share with you.

If you are a coach and striving to give your best to your customers, you need to know this.

What is that?

Being a good coach vs. a great coach.

What's the difference?

Results vs. Permanent Transformation

A good coach will focus more to get you only the results, while a great coach may step back, see the holistic picture and help you transform as an individual apart from achieving the results.

Short-term vs. long-term perspectives

A good coach will come more from short-term thinking vs. a great coach will always bring you long-term perspectives. A great coach will always help you understand, it is okay to take a bit more time to achieve greatness vs. self-gratifying short-term results.

Dependencies vs. self-sufficiency

A good coach will find it difficult to break the dependencies that the customers have on him/her while a great coach will enable his/her customers to become self-sufficient over time.

Continuous learning

A good coach is someone whose learning may cease while a great coach never stops learning on an ongoing basis.

Helping reach the goal vs. enabling to redefine the goal

A good coach helps the customer to achieve the goal. But a great coach would always enable the customers to think beyond the goals or help them redefine the goal in their best interest.

I remember this famous quote.

When the student is ready, the teacher appears.

When the student is truly ready, the teacher disappears.

A coach is meant to be around until the student transforms. Once the student is transformed, there is no need for a coach.

I have a social media group in which I have all my customers, both active and inactive. Active customers are those who are currently taking service from me. Inactive customers are those who took service from me in the past and are now self-sufficient.

Why do I have them in my community?

Learning is continuous and lifelong. While they have learned from me as they went through their transformation, I would like them to hear from others too on how things work differently for different people, at different times, enabling their ongoing learning.

I am aspiring to be a great coach because, only when you aspire, do you continue to expand in all dimensions and achieve your full potential.

********************************************************************

If you have any thoughts about this article, please feel free to leave your comments below. I would sincerely appreciate it. Thank you for reading.

PS: I am an experienced health and wellness coach. I offer programs such as Running, Fitness, Diet & Nutrition, and Weight Management. You can connect with me or follow me at LinkedIn - https://www.linkedin.com/in/ganesh-kuduva-health-coach-2903457/

advice
4

About the Creator

Ganesh Kuduva

LinkedIn Top Voice | Founder - Runner Forever | Health & Wellness Coach | Author of BE A RUNNER FOREVER (Available on Amazon) | Corporate H&W Speaker | Follow me for posts on Health and Life Skills (www.runner-forever.com)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.