Motivation logo

Momma and Me

Modern Satire

By Matthew PrimousPublished 15 days ago 4 min read
1
Momma and Me
Photo by RepentAnd SeekChristJesus on Unsplash

I wasn't always this young fine thing I am today. No Thomasina was a Daddy girl. I used to love Daddy holding me and reading to me. I loved story time. Dad had a way of making me feel special. We would laugh always together. And he was the one that I did not want to disappoint. Dad was my everything. And Mom was what I wanted to grow up being like. Yeah the world was perfect at one time. And everything was in the right position. I had friends ooh child good friends. Friends that you can make good conversation with it. Friends you can play with where Momma and Dad would not be so concerned. And these friends lasted me all the way up to college. We were off and on. Because Dad was my hero and my greatest friend. He would tell me what the world thinks of me. He would tell me how better I am if i used my brain. In fact Dad's character is what I would like in a man. I want a man like Dad. Momma helped me too. She would tell me what looks good on me and we would have fun just picking out dresses. She would teach me the basics of cooking. And I was a worse cook till they taught me in school. But Momma never gave up on me. She would keep me in the kitchen during Summer and Holidays learning how to cook. Sometimes I would asked Daddy if she was torturing me. And he would say that your mother believes in you and cares for you. And finally I got the basics of cooking and I am soo glad Momma believed because if she did not then I would be mess up in college. Ohh college is fun. I liked learning history and that is where I met Robert. Robert is smooth and handsome. He is classy and smart. In the middle of college that's when I decided my family should meet him but Momma said Daddy can't go out much and has a little sickness. And so I told Robert but Robert felt that he was avoiding him and Robert got a little angry with the excuses because he set his eyes on marrying me. So I had to keep making excuses. Then Robert got mad and he made me tell the truth. Because I did not want to breakup with Robert but I told him. I said my father has been sick for a long time. And his wishes are for me to graduate. Robert got so angry that he called off our friendship. And so to avoid Robert I took a break from school and went home to help Momma with Dad. Dad was easy-going. He was happy with the help. He would remind me of yesterday. He would love for me to make his meals. He would love for me to hug him and kiss his forehead. Dad was charming and gentle. And after some weeks that turned into months, Dad when he got better would asked where is my man. Where is Robert? And I started to cry while taking care of Dad so loud that Momma heard me and took over. Momma said that's not what your father need sadness after overcoming pneumonia four times. Girl stop crying for I kick you out. Just tell the truth and stop hiding like you did when you were young. So I straighten up and said I kept holding him off. I kept withholding family stuff. And he left me. Dad said Do you love him. I said Yes. Then he said go find him. I am fine with your mother. Go find your love Beloved. I said Okay Daddy. So I packed up and left in the morning from my parents' house. I called all my friends and re-registered with college. It took weeks and weeks then I went with my friends into this Jazz Club. And the girls wanted to surprised me and I could swear that Robert was performing in this group. After the performance my friends must have been drunk and asked for the Fever Song as we sat close to the front. Robert was the lead singer. And he took off his jacket and tie while he sang fever. And just before the end he asked me my name after he kiss my cheeks and forehead. And he took off one of his rings asking me to marry him and I said yes. And that was the biggest kiss I ever got. I called Dad and Momma in the morning because I got my man. But Momma calmed me down and said Daddy died. And after getting home with Robert after our quick marriage. I took Momma in. Momma used to have nightmares about Daddy. And she would wake up and dream of her parents. After sometime, Robert insisted that Momma be put in a home, where I could visit her. But I refused, I told him that I promised Daddy that I would take good care of her. And so we hired a nurse to look after Momma and I was pregnant. After I gave birth, Momma was bedridden. And she could only look at the baby, I said Momma it's a girl and she is named after you and me Joan Thomasina. Momma smiled and drifted to sleep. And Momma never woke from that sleep. Momma's death was worse than Dad's because I knew my father well really well. And he loved mother taking care of him. Now that I got a daughter I have to moved ahead but I will never forget my mother as Dad would have wanted.

healing
1

About the Creator

Matthew Primous

I am a Black Scholar, International Scholar, & Google Scholar, & 3-Time Eber & Wein Best Poet., Nominee for Poet of the Year, 2020 Black Author Matters Winner, 2 time Akademia Excellence Essayists,& 2022 Honorary Muckrack Journalist.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Alex H Mittelman 15 days ago

    Well written! Enjoyable read! ♥️🇮🇱❤️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.