Motivation logo

Find Your "Yes"

Even if the road is winding.

By Min LPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
3
Created via Canva

I am a dreamer.

It took me a while to finally realize who I am.

There was a man, having visited many countries and selflessly taught and do good to many, returned back to his hometown. One particular day, He was doing the same to his own people - sharing his ideas and doing charity works. After he was done teaching the crowd, the people in the crowd questioned, “Is he not that poor man's son? Why has he suddenly gained so much of popularity?”

To the world, they could not understand. The well-meaning ones told me that I have got to find my footing — “you got to know what you really want, and not everyone gets to do what they really love. Just focus on where you are at.”

Stay grounded and be content with what you get in life.

Those who are less tactful simply snickered and said, “you know — you really got to grow up. Start behaving like a mature person and stop dreaming. You will never become successful otherwise.”

Ouch.

They never knew because, in front of them, I put on a smile. To their words, well-meaning or not, I nod my head and said thanks with a smile. But more often than not, I lie in my bed with tears streaming down the side of my eyes when the words would replay over and again in my mind. I would question myself with the “whys” — “Why am I the odd one? Why can’t I be like anyone else? Why can’t I stay grounded? Why can’t I be happy to stay put at where I am?”

Even my close friends and family cannot understand why.

He broke off the relationship saying that he cannot see a future with me.

Major ouch.

As a result, I kept it all within me.

I am afraid to share anymore.

I no longer speak of dreams to anyone else.

I try to live as normally as I can and feel my soul wither slowly.

But remember the story of that poor man's son when he disregard their voices and opinions while he shared his knowledge to the people in his own hometown in the beginning of this post?

He chose to focus on those who are willing to listen to him. He shared to those who came to learn from him with an open heart.

“A wise man, or a popular one, is not without honour except in his own country and in his own house.”

As for me — the dream is placed within me, for me. The world that surrounds me may not understand and support me but it should not stop me from dreaming.

They did not hear the dream. I did.

To you, the ones who are running after your dreams:

Keep dreaming and keep fighting for your dreams. It is more blessed to have a dream to fight for, than to aimlessly live out the rest of your lives in the expectation of others.

People around you may not give you their Yes, but as you continue on your journey, you will come across with much more “Yes-es” than you could ever imagine.

It took me a longer while but because I did not give up, I found courage to dream again.

Keep showing up to your dream. Find your "YES".

----

If you have made it here and have enjoyed the article, consider supporting me by dropping me a heart or even sending me a tip!

If you would like to play a part in being my fairy and making my dreams come true, I invite you to buy me a cup of Coffee. Any support is greatly appreciated.

Better yet, check out some of my other writing which includes,An Endless Possibilites, A Dream, A Flame, and Bloom.

If you would like to stay in touch, I have recently set up a Facebook Page where you can engage with me.

I can also be found on Medium, Twitter and Instagram. I look forward to meeting with all of you.

A million heartfelt thank you! ❤

how to
3

About the Creator

Min L

A dreamer who loves reading and writing and believes in love and pixie dust. Find little nuggets of hope in my stories. And the occasional fictions.

Medium: medium.com/@weardressdrinktea

IG: @weardressdrinktea

Twitter: @weardressdrinkt

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.