Poets logo

A Flame

Glowing

By Min LPublished 2 years ago 2 min read
9
Photo by Cullan Smith on Unsplash

---

Standing here in the middle, lost in a sea of faces I cannot help but think, that I am just a one in a million. A small fry pushing my way through. 

The flame flints. 

A nobody fighting to be heard. 

The flame flickered. 

In an overcrowded world, with overcrowded of everything, how can I compete? Why should people listen to me?

The flame dimmed. 

These negative voices they filled my head. All of a sudden, the light had gone so dim I could hardly see clearly. The darkness lurked at every corner, waiting for the opportune moment to swoop in. 

The faces, they were blurred out by the looming darkness as the voices turned a notch higher. The beatings of my heart accelerated and all I could hear beside my own breathing was..

Thump, thump, thump…

With feet as heavy as the lead and glued to the spot where I was standing, I willed myself not to succumb to the fear that was stealthily creeping into my heart. 

I must remain strong. 

I must not falter. 

I must hold on. 

Like a protective chant, I repeat them over and over again. Somehow it seemed to be working as I feel my heart calming down and the beats were slowly steadying.

I am strong. 

I am a warrior. 

I have victory over the darkness. 

Again and again, louder and louder the sentences came out of my mouth and reached my ears. Then something within me clicks.

The flame that dimmed stood still. 

It was as though the flame had fallen into a deep slumber that was now slowly roused to wakefulness and it is paying attention. I decided to continue my chants.

I am strong. I am special.

I am one in a million. Nobody could be me.

The flame shimmers to life.

I have a voice that is unique, and that is my story to tell.

The flame glows.

---

The flame glows the most beautiful bright, golden light that encompasses the entire room and the darkness that were lurking around the corner was dispelled and no longer to be seen.

The flame that was thought to be snuffed out, is once again ignited and this time, stronger and brighter.

That flame is in you.

It is you.

---

In order for the light to shine so brightly, the darkness must be present.

- Francis Bacon

This article is originally posted on Medium.

inspirational
9

About the Creator

Min L

A dreamer who loves reading and writing and believes in love and pixie dust. Find little nuggets of hope in my stories. And the occasional fictions.

Medium: medium.com/@weardressdrinktea

IG: @weardressdrinktea

Twitter: @weardressdrinkt

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.