Motivation logo

Find your purpose

"Your purpose in life is to find your purpose and give your whole heart and soul to it" -Buddha

By Adarsh Kumar SinghPublished 2 years ago 5 min read
2
Find your purpose
Photo by Ian Schneider on Unsplash

It is interesting to see that all of us are busy living our lives, not knowing which direction we are going. If only we knew that having a clear purpose in life can make our life much better, we would have clearly defined it by now.

Having a clear purpose in life can guide us to make better life decisions, offer a sense of direction in life, and shape our goals. Do not be under the impression that everyone has the same purpose. The Purpose for each one of us can be different. For some of us, the purpose is to keep our loved ones happy and healthy always. For others, the purpose is serving society. Then there are some whose purpose lies in leading organizations. For some others, it may be working hard to build an organization. There are some of us, who always have their purpose defined and they move ahead with full clarity. For others, it is a constant process to remind yourself of the things to do and the path to follow. As you evolve and move ahead in life your purpose may change over time.  

Some of us may feel reluctant to define our purpose in life feeling that it is a selfish endeavour. But the very reason for finding the true purpose is to use your god-gifted talents to proper use. Everyone has been gifted with something special that we fail to recognize sometimes. So find that talent and align it with your passion and it will become a lot easier to define your true purpose. Ask yourself a few questions, like:

What gives me satisfaction?

What am I good at?

Am I taking this decision because I want to, or the society around me is influencing it?

The American novelist Louis L'Amour wrote, "The only thing that never changes is that everything changes." Like everything else, even life purpose is not constant. As your priorities change and you evolve as a person, you will have to even change your life purpose.

Given below are a few strategies to help you define your true purpose so that you can start living a more meaningful life.

Surround Yourself With Good Company

For this to happen, you need to first open-up and start interacting with like-minded people. As you progress further in this journey of networking, you will find people of different mindsets and different levels of maturity. From these sets of people, form closer connections with those that align with your thought processes and have big dreams and aspirations.

Explore Your Interests

Every individual has an orientation towards something specific. Until and unless you have explored different things in life, you will never know what is that you truly love to do. You will surely get many opportunities in life, and you should not hesitate to grab them. 

Take Ownership of Your Life

To define your purpose, you must give some time to yourself, you must find out what is right for you and know it from the bottom of your heart and soul. This decision of yours should not be driven by fear. You must realize that every situation that you have encountered in life is a result of your own decision, not anybody else's. When you have accepted this fact, you have truly owned your life and circumstances.

Discover Your Vision Life Statement

I have been working on this for a long time now and I feel that each one of us should have one vision life statement. One vision life statement that says it all about your purpose in life. Do not copy somebody else's Vision Life Statement in life and expect to be happy by following it. Just like each individual has a unique definition of happiness, the Vision Life Statement also varies from person to person.

Vision Life Statement can be very diverse. Just to give you a few examples:

My vision life statement is to discover new things.

My vision life statement is to build simple solutions to complex world problems.

My vision life statement is to improve the healthcare and education facilities in my village.

My vision life statement is to uplift the downtrodden.

My vision life statement is to inspire others with my work.

My vision life statement is to make others happy.

Your vision life statement can be anything that will keep you happy and satisfied. At times it may even lead you to uncomfortable situations but mark my words, you will surely be climbing the hill and not going downhill. It will guide you in situations when you are stuck in dilemma.

If you haven't discovered your purpose in life, start exploring new things as trying the same things again and again will not give you any results. Also, your life purpose can change in life. What motivates you, or guides you today may have a different meaning and definition tomorrow. 

My purpose in life as a student was to clear the Indian armed forces exam and join the Indian Air force(IAF). I put all my effort and energy into achieving this purpose and eventually I did it. Two months short of being commissioned as Flying Officer Adarsh Kumar Singh, I had to abruptly leave the training. God had other plans for me. After crossing that phase of my life, I had to regain my strength, find my composure and look for a different purpose in life. And now I have one. I am leading a team in a startup and this time we are creating technologies for the IAF where I wanted to be initially. So, my passion for IAF has never faded.

I knew that life will go on anyways and I can not just sit idle because of one setback or one accident in my life. And that is what I did…

advicegoalshappinesshealinghow toquotesself helpsuccess
2

About the Creator

Adarsh Kumar Singh

Indian Air Force II Manager of Operations @Caliche II Driving Operational Excellence and Business Success II Building an R&D model

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.