Motivation logo

Exam Meltdown: Mom To The Rescue

Personal Experience

By StaringalePublished 9 months ago 5 min read

Sitting here surrounded by books you might be wondering what I am doing. The answer is having a 15 minutes break, and I am utilizing this break to lie down with books and share my experience with you. As you might have put it together or have a suspicion or even if you are clueless, let me tell you I am just recovering from a meltdown and the cause for which is surrounding me but now that I think about it, it is not so daunting anymore.

Rewinding to few hours back, I had given my exam and had a one day break for the next exam. I got up early to break for the exam the sun was barely up but I stretched like a cat and got ready to conquer the subject. Heading to the kitchen to prepare a warm hearty breakfast, I was surprised to hear noise coming from the kitchen. Hesitating, I thought who would rob me so early in the morning don't they have a decent time to do this especially when house is not empty, regardless I grabbed an umbrella from an umbrella stand and tip-toed towards the kitchen. Now I can see the light that was coming from the kitchen accompanied by a delicious aroma wafting through the air. I was seriously starting to question the motives of this thief, did he break-in to steal stuff but leave a meal as a guilty conscience.

I was just around  the corner about to hit who ever was coming out from the kitchen. Grasping the umbrella tightly, I closed my eyes and brought down the umbrella in a quick motion but to my surprise it was caught. Panicking I peeked with one eye and saw that it was my mom and she was looking at me with amusement dancing in her sparkly orbs. My mom was laughing lightly while I stood there like a irritated kitten, huffing I asked my mom when did she come. My mom patted my head and told me that she came last night and I was sleep so she didn't wake me up, she knew how hard was it for me to stay away from my mom so she came here to help and support me.

I hugged her tightly rubbing my head against her while she kept rubbing my head. Pouting like a petulant child I asked her what she made for breakfast. She dragged me to the table where the appetizing meal was set and we enjoyed our breakfast. Getting up to do the dishes my mom stopped me and told me she will take care of it and I should go study. Smiling and nodding I ran to my bedroom to prepare. It is nice if I don't do chores once in a while.

I felt over the moon, so full of positive energy that I feel as if I can take over the world and nothing can bring me down. And I believe I jinxed myself because now four hours later I was one verge of crying and hitting my head against the books nothing was getting in, I felt as if I was forgetting the last chapter when I was studying other chapter. I felt like screaming, imagining a simple way to study like maybe keeping book under pillow will magically make me memorise everything in it. My pitiful state unknown to me was seen by my mother who was coming in to check on me.

I was enveloped in a warm hug and my mom asked me what was wrong? Looking at her with my teary dog eyes, I told her the hurdle I am facing in my exam preparation. She gave me a soothing smile and told me take a nap to sooth my nerves, I instantly nodded and dozed off in her arms. I was woken by gentle rubbing of my head letting out a yawn while my mom asked me if I was feeling better. I nodded and she told me to freshen up and she will help me to study.

As I sat down beside her leaning for a hug which she gladly gave. She told me to close my eyes, clear my head, take a deep breath and answer the questions she was asking. Following through with her advice I started answering her, it was only when my mom went silent did I open my eyes and saw my mom putting down the book. Looking at her questiongly, she grabbed me in a tight hug saying oh my silly child you are panicking for no apparent reason you answered everything in part 1 exam correctly and now it's time to prepare dinner poking my forehead she mumbled over achievers and told me to take a break and part 2 can be done after dinner.

I looked at the clock and then outside true I didn't realise but quite sometime have passed and it was dark outside. I realized that as the exam approaches, the weight of expectations, fear of failure, and the sheer volume of material to study becomes daunting leading to constant state of stress and anxiety which impedes cognitive function resulting in difficulty in processing information and performing optimally.

One aspect that exacerbating the potential for a meltdown is time management. Procrastination or inefficient planning can lead to cramming and late-night study sessions, further amplifying stress levels. The fear of not having enough time to cover all the topics can create a sense of panic and hopelessness, negatively impacting the ability to study effectively. As the pressure builds, even minor setbacks or distractions during the preparation period can trigger a meltdown, affecting overall performance.

Taking a mental reminder to learn from this experience I headed for dinner. My mom asked me is my kit gonna be okay preparing for part 2 by herself? I blushed mom is never going to stop calling me kit, pouting at her I stood up saying and grabbed a fruit bowl and told her I would be fine by myself. And surprisingly I have completed part 2 and only the past papers were left which I will go through after a 15 minute break. I am probably going to turn in early today.

Moms really make everything easy and simple for their kids. And I truly appreciate all the help she has given. The comforting aura and soothing nature of moms make it easy to alleviate stress and anxiety. So all the students out there if you are going through exams or will have exams soon then call your mom and ask her to help you.

successhappinessgoalsadvice

About the Creator

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Doc Sherwood9 months ago

    I loved the depiction of your mom in the last one, and it's wonderful to see her again here. Both young at heart and very wise, her lessons on revision and self-confidence make this a most instructive piece for all the other students out there, but your story isn't merely didactic - it also strikes the perfect balance between humour and warmth, triumphing as a family narrative too. Your early thoughts that you might have had a burglar on your hands, albeit one who keeps unconventional hours, made me think of Oliver Twist when everyone in the Maylie household is shocked the robbers came at night! The self-parody is lovely too, and I was smiling at "petulant child," "irritated kitten" and "teary dog eyes!" And just to add, the photo is beautiful, really capturing the relationship that this piece is all about. Loved it!

SWritten by Staringale

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.