Motivation logo

Every Step I did that Helped me Pass NCLEX-RN even if I was working Part-time

These five principles also helped me pass other tests after NCLEX-RN: TELC Deutsch B2 and IELTS.

By Wam RelloraPublished 4 months ago 4 min read
Like
Every Step I did that Helped me Pass NCLEX-RN even if I was working Part-time
Photo by Sonja Langford on Unsplash

Every journey is different.

I took NCLEX-RN on February 28, 2020.

I vividly remember that moment. My hands were trembling. My voice was also trembling. I could barely look myself in the mirror because of all the eruptions happening on my face.

Stress.

I was so stressed.

The most grueling moments were those three days of waiting until I got the result on the morning of March 2, 2020.

I could also remember that moment. I was on the bus on my way back to the dorm. The agency that helped me in my NCLEX-RN application process convinced me to get an immediate result on NCSBN, and I agreed.

Even though it was hot that day, my whole body was cold as I started to open the results. And upon seeing the results on my phone, my entire body trembled. With tears streaming down my face and thoughts pouring in, I was smiling.

I passed.

In my head, I said, "You were right." I was referring to that one person who made me believe in myself. He reminded me to keep on praying. He reminded me to keep the faith. Because on those three grueling days from February 28 until March 2, 2020, I was in the most bottomless pit. My emotions were in shambles. I was in denial, shocked at how the exam took so long for me and accepted the lie that I didn't pass. I'll tell you about this in another post.

So, during those moments, I planned to re-take the exam by April 2020.

I'm glad I didn't have to do that.

If I had not passed the exam, I might've been one of those nurses who planned to take the exam that month but never took it in the next few months because of the unexpected Pandemic.

So, what are those five steps that I did that helped me pass NCLEX-RN? As promised, here they are.

1. I got in a review center, Rachel Allen, for 25 days.

I knew I needed their help because, on my own, I couldn't do it. For a year, I tried. But I just couldn't because it wasn't my priority. My work was.

This review center helped create a new structure for me that revolves around nursing concepts, dance, and other memory tactics to help me pass the test.

We have classes from 8 AM until 5 PM. There were days when we had to come as early as 7 AM and as late as 7 PM. One thing that was consistent in those 25 days, though, was the lunch break.

We had an hour-long lunch break that included a long line to the ladies' room and a long line to grab the vegetarian lunch we had ordered the previous day. The time was enough for me to finish my lunch quickly so I could still return to the restroom before we resumed class at 1 PM.

2. I got myself the Uworld App

The design of this app looks a lot like the real NCLEX-RN. I loved it. Although I didn't get to finish all the questions before I took the test, it still helped me prepare enough.

I use it during the weekend when we don't have classes. I also use it at night after reviewing the handouts given to us that day. I also try to use it in the morning before class or during lunch breaks. Most of the time, though, I couldn't. I usually would focus on the day's topic and focus on the handouts once I stepped into the review center building.

3. I review the pre-and post-test at the dorm

Before the start of every topic, we get a pre-test. At the end of every lesson, we get a post-test. That's how it is at Rachel Allen. Whoever gets the highest score receives the chocolate gold coin. I only got two or three, I think. The highest I got was the pre-test for Psychiatric Nursing.

We carry our handouts with us once we get home, and I review those pre- and post-test topics during dinner.

Before I go to bed, I open my laptop to work.

4. I used Mark Klimek

If I were too tired to open Uworld upon waking up early, I would listen to Mark Klimek.

When I wasn't satisfied with my post-test score, I would also listen to Mark Klimek on that topic before I went to bed. This is after reviewing the handouts for the day.

5. I listened to Uncle David's affirmations every day

This is a part of the Rachel Allen routine.

Each morning, before the class started, we were all asked to get everything off our desks, close our eyes, and listen to Uncle David McGraw.

After listening to him, we would visualize our USRN license and raise our hands three times to energize us. I did the last one during my toilet break when taking the NCLEX.

Here's the updated version of what we were listening to. The only difference is that this time, it's 40 minutes longer. What we heard for 25 days was the 20-minute one.

I honestly have forgotten about listening to this for a while. I used to listen to this every day after I learned that I passed NCLEX because there were other challenges, like stepping stones, until I started to experience the authentic American Dream.

Yesterday, something reminded me of this, and I tried to listen again. I'm glad I did. After doing so, I started to write this post.

Looking back, I realized that I only really followed one principle that helped me pass NCLEX, and that even set the foundation for helping me pass any other tests I took after that. That principle is this. There was no wasted time. Despite working part-time, I had only one focus: to pass the exam.

I hope this is useful.

Your neighbor,

Wam

self helpsuccesshow toadvice
Like

About the Creator

Wam Rellora

I write to give you another perspective on what you already know about your mind, health, spirit, and emotions. This other approach will help you have more understanding to aid your journey toward evolution or growth in this lifetime.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.