Motivation logo

Earned

Success!

By KJ AartilaPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 3 min read
16
Earned
Photo by Dan Dennis on Unsplash

I finally earned enough money this month through publishing stories on Vocal to pay my monthly Vocal+ subscription fee and have enough left over to enjoy a cup of coffee! Woohoo!

Is this success? Well, today it is in the endeavor to reach greatness. Small victories, right? My goal is to earn enough to cover the cost of my annual subscription to Vocal+. From there, it’s limitless. Maybe next month, I will earn enough cash to pay for an entire meal! If this works out, I’ll share it with you. Not the meal, but my method.

Small disciplines repeated with consistency every day lead to great achievements gained slowly over time. — Author John C. Maxwell

Here’s a good article about recognizing small wins: http://blog.idonethis.com/small-wins/

So the $14.00 (give or take) I’ve made this month is nothing to sneeze at!

How did I do that & how do I repeat the process and continue the curve upward?

1. Top Story

I made a majority of my earnings this month by hitting a couple of Top Story placements with the Vocal platform. I received payment from Vocal, as well as many more than the typical amount of reads (for me.) How did I do that? I have no idea. If I have no idea, that performance may be hard to follow. What I did do is write a number of articles, committed to doing so in a short timeframe, and applyied some of the techniques I’ve learned with study and practice over time. I’m still analyzing.

These are my two Top Stories from October. They are both very different. What stands out to you? Why do you think they were chosen?

The First - a short poem:

The Second - an article giving some advice? on feedback:

2. Monetary Tips

I also received a tip. That’s an unreliable, but motivating, source of income dependent on how a piece you’ve written speaks to a reader, and how generous that reader is feeling with their own cash at the moment. It’s always inspiring to know your words have been felt powerfully enough to inspire a person part with a dollar or two, so thank you Tip Giver! I shall continue writing.

In order to increase your ability in earning tips, it’s important to reach the right readers. You can do so with increased exposure of your writing. The more eyes you reach, the more likely you are to connect with your “right” reader - the one that truly appreciates your word’s impact.

3. Reads

The rest I made with reads. That’s the most important technique, as it depends on you - the writer. What you produce, promote and how you interact with potential readers and peers is entirely up to you. To me, that’s pretty motivating in itself to work to produce writing to the best of my ability at any given moment.

I have made it a point to read and engage consistently with fellow writers and readers, and you know what? I’m really enjoying it. It’s rewarding, despite the payoff. I have discovered new friends and talented writers because I decided to make an effort to do that. Mindfulness counts.

So what have I learned so far?

I will keep writing a bunch, while continuing my improvement as a writer to, hopefully, supply readers with enjoyable stories and poems to read, promote those published works to the best of my ability currently, and I will continue to interact meaningfully with other writers and readers. For me, authenticity works best - in both writing and interacting. I don’t know if that will lead to improved financial success next month, but it can’t hurt.

Thank you for reading! I hope you find this inspiring as a creator or art-appreciator. What would you add? What works for you?

advicehow togoals
16

About the Creator

KJ Aartila

A writer of words in northern WI with a small family and a large menagerie.

My Substack

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insight

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

Add your insights

Comments (10)

Sign in to comment
  • Cathy holmes2 years ago

    Great piece. Congrats

  • Ben Shepherd2 years ago

    I’ve been wondering if the secret to becoming a top story is being more engaged with the community. Sounds like that could be a factor. Thanks for sharing your tips.

  • Susie Kearley2 years ago

    Well done!

  • Sarah St.Erth2 years ago

    great story Keila, Congrats on the top stories. I have really backed off from engagement as my life was not allowing for the time to produce consistently enough to foster continuity. It does feel like a battle some days. thank you for sharing your insights. winter brings me in doors and writing more, hope to reconnect with you and so many other amazing writers in these communities.

  • A lot of good points in there and it's essentially keep writing, keep positive, and appreciate the love and encouragement others show you.

  • Heather Hubler2 years ago

    Great article and congrats on your success so far! It is joy to read and interact with so many real and honest creators. You consistently put out well-written and thoughtful content, and it shows :)

  • Robyn Clifford2 years ago

    Thanks for compiling your insights, always great to hear that someone is making this much! Congrats on the two top stories, you must have tapped into the secret formula ;)

  • The Dani Writer2 years ago

    Growth and improvement is always a good thing. It's such a lift to look back as a writer and SEE your development. Keep growing and glowing!

  • This comment has been deleted

  • Luke Foster2 years ago

    Congratulations on your success.

  • Babs Iverson2 years ago

    Excellent advice!!! Left you an insight and a heart!!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.