Motivation logo

Don't Break

Whatever you do, please don't break.

By Theresa EvansPublished about a year ago 4 min read
Like
Don't Break
Photo by Roberto Silva on Unsplash

Don't break a bird's wings and then tell it to fly. Don't break a heart and then tell it to love. Don't break a soul and then tell it to be happy. Don't see the worse in a person; expect them to see the best in you. Don't judge people and expect them to stand by your side. Don't play with fire, and expect to stay perfectly safe. Life is about giving and taking. You can not expect to give bad and receive good. You can not expect to give good and receive bad. (Rumi, Saadi, Halfiz Poems and quotes)

Don't break a bird's wings and then tell it to fly.

Breaking a bird's wings is terrible because these birds were meant to fly, so if you go around cutting off all the wings that fly around the world, the only person you are hurting is yourself by doing this. It took me a while to realize that my wings are only built to help me fly in the direction I need to go. If I continue to let others clip my wings off, I will never be able to lift off the way I am supposed to. The more I think about this, the more I realize that most people are only in the business of making sure that you are not flying higher than they are. As long as they can see that you are still beneath them, they are happy until you get your wings back. Then all of a sudden, these same people want to pretend that they are in the same mental head space you are in, and the funny thing about this is that they do not even realize that you know they are not even close. This is why it is easy for me to change directions without missing a beat. Trying to compete with me is not in my best interest.

Don't break a heart and then tell it to love.

If you choose to break a heart and then turn right around and tell it to love again, you are the issue for me. You know that you have broken many hearts over the years, but instead of taking accountability for the hearts you have broken, you would rather keep breaking them and expecting them to love you the same way, but it does not work that way. If you do not want me to flip the script on you, then don't give me a reason to look at you differently in the first place. My heart is big, but at the same time, I am not going to let others keep trying to throw shade at me just because they are the ones that have a broken heart and have made a choice to never recover from it. I do not have a problem with helping those who want to heal their broken hearts, but trust me when I tell you that my services are not free. You will pay a heavy price tag for breaking my heart and expect me to love you the same.

Don't break a soul and then tell it to be happy.

It took me a while to understand that when someone comes off saying things that rip your soul right out from under you, and then they come right back and tell you to be happy, I have to ask the question, are you for me or against me because I am watching what you do the hell with what you are saying. I can not afford to give up my happiness ever again.

Don't see the worse in a person; expect them to see the best in you.

When you start seeing the worse in others, expecting them to see the best in you is not going to work because you are limiting yourself from others seeing the good you are in for yourself. Your good works will always speak volumes for you, and I know firsthand that sometimes it seems and even feels like your good works are not getting you anywhere but believe me when I say that being a good person and seeing the good in others first will pay off if you keep being you.

Don't judge people and expect them to stand by your side. Don't play with fire, and expect to stay perfectly safe. Life is about giving and taking. You can not expect to give bad and receive good, and you can not expect to give good and receive bad.

goalssuccessself helphow tohealing
Like

About the Creator

Theresa Evans

I am a woman on fire for the love of life and being able to reach one life at a time through my words. If I can reach one then I can teach one the art of healing one's self from the inside out all mentaly

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.