Motivation logo

Do You Live Good In Your Neighborhood?

He will have a difficult time getting help from many people here. His wife won’t.

By Annelise Lords Published 14 days ago 4 min read
2
Image by Annelise Lords

In Jamaica, we rely on the farmers in the rural or countryside to feed us. I live in the city. In the city areas all across Jamaica, fruit trees are on almost every property. I have three on mine. I sell nothing.

I share with everyone and anyone who wants Mangoes, breadfruit, or sweetsops. Which include birds, rats, and rat bats who feast on sweetsop and mangoes. Bees who buzzed on the breadfruits and humans who enjoy all three.

My mangoes

My sweetsop

My breadfruit

East Indian mangoes are loved by most Jamaicans. We call it top-of-the-line mangoes. These are ripe ones I bought years ago.

My East Indian Mangoes

I have a neighbor that I always give breadfruit to him and his wife. I wanted to bring mangoes to the US, so I paid him for some.

He took the money.

In more than twenty years I shared mine with him and his wife I never sold him any of my fruits. The guy was in the tree picking mangoes when I went to his house. I gave him my bag and went back over to my house for a few minutes. When I returned, he gave me a bag of mangoes. Being a female who likes to examine her stuff, I checked the bag before I left. It was full of green mangoes. I had to tell him what I wanted to do with them and when I was leaving because I couldn’t wait for them to ripen. Plus, when it’s not mango season, these green mangoes rot before they get ripe. This happens only in the city.

He packed the ripe ones in a bag that he hid. He had to get it and add the ripe one I paid him for. He mixed them and I still ended up with green ones.

I told my husband what he did.

My husband ordered more from him. He had to leave and when he got back, he gave him the bag. I was busy doing other stuff and wasn’t aware that he got them until late. My husband forgets to check until later too. It is typical of men not to check the goods they paid for.

When we checked it, it was filled with green mangoes. No one in Jamaica buys green mangoes from anyone. My husband wanted to give it to his doctor friend. The black on the mango at the bottom tells it’s rotting because it fell. We can’t give these mangoes to anyone.

My green mangoes.

He refused to return them and will stand the loss.

I have been to his house several times to deliver breadfruit that he and his wife love, and I noticed how she mistreated him. She was always quarreling with him about his nasty attitude and greed.

I felt sorry for him because they had been married for more than forty years. I believe in their old age; they should be happier as they only have each other since there are no children or grandchildren around. Their children are in Canada and the US, along with their grandchildren.

He sold us the mangoes and gave us green ones. I learned that the ripe ones he took to the market to sell.

Life showed me that there is a reason for everything. His wife would never take a penny from us. Now I know why she treats him that way.

Being elderly with no family around can be a liability for many of us as reputation makes or breaks you. Living good in your community is an asset. The elderly will need the help of families, and with none nearby, how you live in your community will determine if you get the help you need. He will have a difficult time getting help from many people here. His wife won’t.

It’s shocking how petty acts of dishonesty and greed can negatively affect our lives.

How do you live in your neighborhood?

If your heart could speak, what would it say?

Living good is an asset that all of humanity needs. Good pays you back with good. The opposite for bad living.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7uPtmePu6mA&t=60s

Thank you for reading this piece. I hope you enjoyed it.

happinesshow tohealinggoalsadvice
2

About the Creator

Annelise Lords

Annelise Lords writes short inspiring, motivating, thought provoking stories that target and heal the heart. She has added fashion designer to her name. Check out https: https://www.etsy.com/shop/ArtisticYouDesigns?

for my designs.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.