Motivation logo

Do You Listen To Your Instincts?

My instincts had been warning me from the moment we met, but he was so charming he swept me off my feet.

By Annelise Lords Published 20 days ago 6 min read
Like
Image by Annelise Lords

“Why me?” Journalist Rosalyn Dossier asked her boss Jack Miller. “In the twenty years I have been here no one asked me,” she explained.

“Someone there asked for you,” he informs her.

“Me?” her hand on her chest. “But why?”

“Go and find out,” he suggested.

Staring at more than three hundred graduates, staring back at her eagerly, shocked along with the memory of her being in the audience more than twenty years ago, tied her tongue.

Breathing heavily as she struggled to push the words out, a voice from the front row said, “She is listening to her instincts.”

Her words send Rosalyn back to a point in her life, and as the memory spreads through her body, she finds the strength, “What did you say, young lady?”

A too-small-to-be graduating from college female, with jet black hair, sea-blue eyes that hypnotize you, and olive skin, said with the sweetest smile, “I am telling my friend that you are listening to your instincts.”

Staring at her, as she turned to say something to a male behind her.

‘NO!’ Rosalyn’s instincts cried out silently. ‘It can’t be.’ She turned around and Rosalyn saw something in her eyes that sent her back. She blinked and it subsided.

With a smile, Rosalyn recovered, “You will be going out in the world with limited experience, knowledge, understanding, and know-how of many things. Keep learning mode on, always.”

“What did your instincts say?” The same voice asked.

“When I was nineteen years old, I met and fell in love with Prince Charming. He was perfect in every way. But my instincts kept alerting me of things I couldn’t understand. I knew nothing about love, real life, and relationships. He showered me with expensive gifts and all of my friends adored him. He showered them with gifts too. Three years later on the air one night after reading the news, he proposed to me while more than five million viewers watched. My instincts demand that I take more time to know him.”

“You turned him down in front of five million people?” Someone in the audience asked.

“My instincts had been warning me from the moment we met, but he was so charming he swept me off my feet. All I saw in front of me was someone who adored me and didn’t hide it.”

“What did he do?” An impatient female voice demands.

“After the news, inside my dressing room, I saw a side of him that shocked me. He demanded how dare I tell him no! Then he punched the wall damaging it, which caused my coworkers to rush in. Their instincts put them on guard too.”

“Did he hurt you?” A male in the second row asked.

“No, but I was terrified.”

“So, what happened?” Someone else asked.

“We broke up.”

“And what happened next?”

“One year later, he married my best friend.”

“What!” Many voices in the audience shouted.

“Two years later he killed her because she refused his request.”

Shock and fear exploded in hearts that showed on their faces.

“He always has his way,” Rosalyn recalls, witnessing the shock in eyes and expression. “I never told him no until he asked me to marry him. The point I am trying to make is you lacked a lot going out into the world. Certain decisions will be hard with limited resources. There will be decisions that require time that you don’t have or cannot afford. Experience and knowledge life hasn’t taught you yet. Wisdom and understanding you must use but don’t have. But listen to your instincts. It can make decisions from places you can’t and it’s never wrong. When you go out into the world, take the time to listen to your instincts.!

“What happened to him?”

“He is still paying for his crime.”

“Do you listen to your instincts all of the time?”

“None of us do. But after lessons learned, I pay a price and so will you. Then I make better decisions.”

“How did you know he was dangerous?” the same female asked.

“I didn’t. He swept me off my feet and I couldn’t focus on the important things. But my instincts keep interrupting everything I do,” Rosalyn recalls, sending the pain back.

“But when it comes to love, most of us get advice from someone. I would ask my grandma or a family member in a long-term relationship,” she said.

“I did, I even asked strangers. Everyone told me I was lucky to have a handsome wealthy guy who adores me,” Rosalyn recalls.

“It was just your instincts that stopped you?” She questions a strange look on her face.

“Yes, and it also saves my life. Our instincts have that power. With your level of innocence and lack of knowledge and experience of our world, all some of us have is our instincts. When it speaks, listen!”

As Rosalyn walked to her car, a familiar voice called out, “They named me after you!”

She swung around to see the same young lady. Rosalyn trembled as more memories invaded her body, mind, and soul.

“I asked for you. I wanted to know why you turned down my father’s proposal.”

“There was no mention of a child,” Rosalyn said gulping down her shock. She had his deep blue eyes and olive skin, but Charlene’s jet-black hair and winged-shaped birthmark on the right side of her neck.

“My grandma paid to have that information out of the media,” she explained.

“But still, I should have known,” Rosalyn states.

“I was a week old when he wanted her to leave me with the nanny and go on a business trip. My mother refused and an argument developed, and he shot her for telling him no. His parents never told him no and he was raised that way.”

“I am sorry,” Rosalyn said.

“I wished my mom had listened to her instincts too. Thank you for this vital lesson. I will obey you,” she said walking away.

Rosalyn stared after her, her heart pounding.

Life, humans, and sometimes our actions, choices, and decisions will push us into places, where only our instincts can decide for us. Listen to it, it’s never wrong and can save your life.

If your heart could speak, what would it say?

Our instincts make decisions from places our heart, mind, and soul can’t reach. Listen to it! — Annelise Lords

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0CVV9Y73K?ref_=pe_93986420_774957520

Thank you for reading this piece. I hope you enjoyed it. 00000

self helphow tohealinghappinessgoals
Like

About the Creator

Annelise Lords

Annelise Lords writes short inspiring, motivating, thought provoking stories that target and heal the heart. She has added fashion designer to her name. Check out https: https://www.etsy.com/shop/ArtisticYouDesigns?

for my designs.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.