Motivation logo

Clear your mind with meditation

Keep your mind clear and free, controlling your own thoughts and emotions.

By Cas TPublished 7 months ago 4 min read
Like
Clear your mind with meditation
Photo by Matteo Di Iorio on Unsplash

I will provide you with all the necessary information about meditation, including the ideal location, proper posture, and whether or not to listen to music. Additionally, I will guide you on how to quiet your mind and answer common questions such as where to meditate and how long each session should be. When it comes to choosing a meditation spot, experts suggest that any place can be suitable. However, I believe it's best to select a serene and undisturbed location. This could be your bedroom, a secluded area in your car, a quiet library, or even a peaceful forest. The key is finding a tranquil environment that allows you to focus without distractions. Regarding the duration of your meditation practice, I recommend aiming for five to ten minutes.

To ensure you stay fully present during this time, it is crucial to set an alarm. Without one, you may constantly wonder if the allotted time has passed, interrupting the purpose of meditation, which is to attain a state of thoughtlessness. Additionally, it's important to prioritize the quality of your practice over its length. In my opinion, being completely present and mindful for a mere 10 seconds far surpasses being slightly present and mindful for a full 10 minutes. Remember, longer does not necessarily equate to better results. Now, let's discuss the optimal posture for meditation. While many individuals advocate against lying down, I don't entirely agree with this perspective.

I engage in meditation twice daily, once in the morning and again at night. My purpose for meditating at night is to aid in falling asleep, so I lie down during this session. However, in the morning, I always choose to sit in order to avoid the risk of dozing off again. If you plan on meditating just once a day, I strongly recommend doing so in the morning and while sitting. Now, how should you sit?

For beginners, I suggest sitting in a chair with your eyes closed, head facing forward, back straight, feet flat on the ground, and hands resting comfortably on your legs. You may have seen Buddhist monks sitting cross-legged with their feet turned upwards, which is the proper meditation posture. However, I have personally observed that many beginners find this position uncomfortable. I still encourage you to try it, but if it doesn't feel right, sitting with your legs crossed in a more relaxed manner or even sitting in a chair is perfectly acceptable.

Once meditation becomes a daily habit, then you can explore transitioning towards the traditional Buddhist monk position. Now, let's address the question of whether you should listen to music while meditating. Ultimately, the choice is yours. However, for beginners, I recommend listening to calming and soothing piano music or nature sounds. Personally, I utilize an app called Relaxing Melodies, where I listen to a track called "Eternity". Please note that this is not a sponsored recommendation. That being said, meditating without music is also perfectly acceptable. You need to discover what works best for you through personal experimentation. Now, let's focus on the essential aspect of meditation: what should you do or think about during your practice? There are various meditation techniques available, but the one I typically engage in is called mindfulness meditation. It is widely regarded as one of the most potent meditation techniques globally.

The central idea behind it is to direct your attention solely to your breath. When you are in a seated position, make sure to inhale through your nose and exhale through your nose.

The crucial element here is to direct all your attention towards your breath, including the sensations of air against your nose, the way it fills your body and lungs, and the brief pause between each inhale and exhale. This focused attention is what will quiet your mind. When people new to meditation attempt it, they often express frustrations such as "I can't stop thinking," "I keep getting itches," or "Meditation doesn't work for me." Experiencing these challenges is completely normal and expected. Even after six years of meditating twice a day, I still encounter itches and thoughts. However, if you continue to breathe and trust the meditation process, those thoughts and itches will eventually fade away. If you have difficulty quieting your mind, you can try my belly breathing technique. As I inhale through my nose, I slightly expand my belly as if I'm filling it with air.

This method, known as belly breathing, is the most relaxing way to breathe. Although it may seem simple and even silly, I assure you that if you give it a try, you will feel significantly better, even in your day-to-day life. Now, let's address the million-dollar question: how can you make this habit stick? The most effective approach is to establish a habit trigger, which can be anything that reminds you of the habit you're trying to develop. For instance, a friend of mine wanted to make it a habit to listen to audiobooks every day. To achieve this, he decided that every time he ate a meal, he would listen to an audiobook. Eating became his habit trigger, so whenever he sat down to eat, he immediately thought, "Time to listen to another audiobook." If you meditate in the morning, I suggest using something like your shower as a habit trigger. Right after you finish showering, it's time to meditate.

Alternatively, you can tell yourself that you can't have your morning cup of coffee or breakfast until you meditate. And if none of these methods work, you can always place a large sign on your door that serves as a reminder that you can't leave the house until you've meditated. If you're seeking inspiration and an amazing perspective on meditation, I recommend watching my video where I discuss the astonishing benefits of meditation. And when I say astonishing, I truly mean it.

healingsuccessself helphow tohappinessgoalsadvice
Like

About the Creator

Cas T

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.