Motivation logo

Challenge Accepted. Mission complete.

My 100th Submission on Vocal

By Lamar WigginsPublished 11 months ago 7 min read
Top Story - June 2023
68
Challenge Accepted. Mission complete.
Photo by Charlota Blunarova on Unsplash

For my 100th story I wanted to do something different to summarize my time on Vocal... Please enjoy.

I think we can all agree that Vocal is great at capturing our attention with the endless array of challenges. Just the word itself is enough to turn heads. "Are you challenging me?" Who doesn't love a good challenge? It's almost like a dare. "I dare you to write something that people will read and find engaging. And if it fits the bill, you might just gain some recognition among other things."

Enough said, I'm in!

The majority of my profile content is full of past challenge material. This doesn't mean that it's all I'm here for, I love creating non-challenge material as well. With working a full-time job and other projects looming, I make sure and reserve time to finish entries I'm committed to submitting.

Completing a challenge is not only a good feeling but also stretches my abilities as a writer. I'd never written a haiku before, let alone knew about the specific structure. But I do now. This is one of my favorites that I wrote for the Quadra Haiku challenge.

Another fun test was the Ludicrous Limerick challenge. Of course, I knew about limericks but never took the time to learn the backstory or structure. (shame on me) After reading some of the entries and getting some great examples, I sat down to write. I think I did 6 in all. This one was my favorite from that bunch.

Next, I opened my browser one day to see a new challenge called the Full Moon. Write a poem inspired by a dream...Easy enough, I thought... At first, I struggled with the style I wanted to use. I ended up writing two entries. I liked the rhyming one better that was inspired by one of those nights where you wake up frequently just to fall back to sleep and have another crazy dream. Check it out here.

Not too long ago, I found myself faced with the Get Comfortable challenge. Write a poem that celebrates what gives you comfort. This one could go in so many directions, but I chose to write about the comfort of my neighborhood.

I joined Vocal in February of 2021 after seeing an ad on Facebook about entering a contest for the Black Book challenge. I clicked on it, and it seemed legit. It wasn't like some of these sites that take you 30 different places before you get answers to what it's all about. Vocal was pretty clear about who they were.

Entering that challenge was humbling. I thought my entry was sound, brilliant, unique. I was wrong. First off, I sped through writing it. 2nd, it was full, I mean full of errors, mostly with tense. It went back and forth from past to present like a deranged time traveler. I revisited the entry and fixed it all but must have generated some laughs at Vocal. The ideas were plentiful, the execution (in some cases), horrid. This was a huge wake up call. I had to become more attentive with editing... and I did.

Before Vocal, I wrote a short story series that's still has potential. I also wrote short skits for video projects that I was involved with. Back in the day, I wrote a 250-page mystery-thriller novel that sits there waiting until the day I rewrite it. Also, in my portfolio, I wrote a screenplay that I fell in love with called Beautiful Scars, a slasher-thriller about a tattoo artist. I do plan to rewrite that one.

Thanks to all the content available to read on Vocal from other creators, including resources, I've learned a great deal about editing. But it's not over, I'm still learning…

Now, let's go straight into what really gets me going as a writer. I love everything paranormal. I also love Horror, mystery, fantasy, sci-fi and thrillers. I have examples of all of them in my profile. Fiction is my thing. The idea of looking at a blank sheet of paper or screen, then producing a story from basically nothing is amazing to me. I applaud creators everywhere that have found success in doing this. Dedication and determination are two words that come to mind when understanding the drive that makes us continue to create and share. In most cases we have no choice but to feed this insatiable urge to write, it's who we are.

Inspiration is a huge factor in developing ideas. This is where challenge prompts come in. They are the inspiration for us to create. Not every challenge may interest us but most of them do. Some people say, it's outside of my comfort zone. I get that. For example, you're not going to write a horror story if you're afraid of the dark to begin with. I don't know what my comfort zone is because I want to be open to all possibilities. Romance is by far, the lowest on my list of things I want to write about. I tried it once and it turned out okay. Writing a complete romance is different than having a MC being romantically involved as part of their character build. My so-called romance entry was written for the Dream Date challenge a while back before commenting was instated. It was the challenge where you had to mention a Glass of Merlot. If you dare, check out Why did I call him Frankie? my one and only entry for that one. It has 20+ reads, zero likes, zero comments, lol.

Back to what I'm all about. I highly recommend 1109 Blackthorn Lane written for the Broken Mirror challenge. The title actually started out as an entry for If walls could talk challenge, which was the only challenge I intended to enter that stumped me. I was excited all to hell about it but couldn't bring it together. I must have begun writing the entry 3 different times with multiple titles just to give up and throw in the towel. I just didn't like where any of the attempts were going. So, I admitted defeat. (Bows head in remembrance) But I liked the final title I chose for it and used it for The Broken Mirror Challenge. One creator, Morgana Miller commented.

"Ahh what a horrifying concept, and such an apt metaphor for the haunting dread of art unfinished. So well-written! I really enjoyed this."

One of my top 3 favorite entries was spawned from the Christopher Paolini Fantasy challenge. I started this story quickly after learning of the prompt. I trashed it even quicker. The original Idea was boring and would turn out similar in concept to many of the entries. The prompt: A grown dragon finds a lost — or abandoned — toddler in the forest. Write a fiction story about what happens next. - I worked hard on the story. I would say, 2-3 hours each seating for about 20 days within the allotted time frame of 37 days before finally hitting the submit button. If you enjoy fantasy with a palpable twist, Check out Tywrick below. One commenter, Rick Henry-Christopher said,

"Outstanding craftsmanship. You brought this story full circle to a resolution that was both creative and satisfying."

On a lighter side of my challenge submissions, I decided to have a little fun and show some versatility with the Improbable Paradise challenge. It's a fun story with some unlikely characters. One creator, Heather Hubler said,

"I loved this storyline! So fun and clever. Wonderful work!!"

For my Honorable Mention, I want to include something psychological and intense. It was written for the Campfire challenge. The Doppelganger includes some violence and was written before content warnings were an option. One thing to note is...It's a work of fiction, and not overly violent. One creator, Roy Stevens wrote,

"This idea would make for a really interesting screenplay don't you think? There's lots of action and some seriously twisted identity transfers for the audience to enjoy. Anyway, I enjoyed it myself."

Dharrasheena, the queen of horror wrote,

"This blew my mind! Fantastic take on the challenge. Loved the story"

I never expect to win any of these challenges, who does? I'm sure it comes as a shock to the 1st and 2nd place winners every time. We all know our potential as a contender but with so many great writers on this platform and so many entries that none of us can physically read the majority of, (except the judges of course) the odds are stacked against us. It boils down to the creative content, the execution, and in most cases the literary quality of our submissions...

Thank you so much for taking this brief journey with me to highlight the fun I've had creating on Vocal. Most of these stories would have never materialized if it wasn't for Vocal challenging me. In a way, Vocal is like our own little Masterclass where we can write, learn, get better and inspire each other with our creations and advice... I'll see you at the next challenge.

***Bonus ***

Below is a mere handful of the creators I'm loving. The links are to their profiles. Please show them some love and read a story. One of the links goes directly to a story whose title has relevance to Vocal. The story itself is a must read if you haven't already. Drop the title in the comments if you have time to search for it. Thank you.

Paul Stewart, Heather Hubler, Gina C., Dharrsheena, Jenny Blue, Rick Henry-Christopher, Donna Renee, Cathy Holmes, River Joy, C.H. Richard Naomi Gold, Tiffany Gordon, Randy Wayne- Jellison Knock Roy Stevens Judey Kalchik, Alex H. Mittleman, The Invisible writer, Kelli Sheckler-Amsden, Dean F. Hardy Real Poetic, Lonzo Ward, Scott Wade, Dana Stewart, Matthew Fromm, Dana Crandell, Stephen Kramer Avitabile Veronica Coldiron, D. Alexandra Porter, Novel Allen, Sleepy Drafts (Em), Loryne Andawey, Babs Iverson, Leslie Writes, Sara Wilson And many many others. Thank you all. 🥰

LDubs.

advicesuccessgoals
68

About the Creator

Lamar Wiggins

Creative writer in the Northeast US who loves the paranormal, mystery, true crime, horror, humor, fantasy and poetry. Take a chance, you'll be thoroughly entertained.

"Life is Love Experienced" -LW

LDubs

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  5. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (44)

Sign in to comment
  • Rick Henry Christopher 5 months ago

    This is great Lamar!!! I don't know how I missed this the first time around. I like how you set this up. Excellent work!!!

  • Justine Crowley6 months ago

    Congratulations on 100 articles/stories on here. Challenges can be fun to enter. Sadly I have not won any as yet; only a number of top stories. There was a time where I disappeared from the platform, only to return. Great work.

  • L.C. Schäfer8 months ago

    This was a cool window into the mind of a solid long time Vocal creator 😁

  • Denise E Lindquist9 months ago

    I really enjoyed your process and the tips and stories. Well done ❤️

  • Test10 months ago

    I missed this. I wish I hadn’t but am very glad to see it now. This was lovely and so very thoughtfully crafted. I’m in agreement about the practice. This has given me more gratitude. Thank you for that. And this- “It went back and forth from past to present like a deranged time traveler,” talking of tense. It made me laugh because I do that shit all of the time. And my gosh, thank you for the mention, Lamar. This is great.

  • Veronica Coldiron10 months ago

    Dang Lamar! This was AWESOME! I didn't get to follow all of the links today, but will be reading a lot of this over the weekend. I'm sure I'm not your only fan, but I'm a big one. LOL! Since I'm seeing you and I are fellow "paranormal" connoisseurs, I'd like to send you a copy of my supernatural suspense novel,, "Nightworld Shadows". Feel free to contact me either on FB messenger or at the email address below and if you'll send an address, I'll send you a book. 😉 veronica.coldiron @ hotmail .com

  • Eva Smitte10 months ago

    I like your writing style , it feels dynamic and energising, well done on a top story 👍🏼

  • Novel Allen11 months ago

    I think we both joined with the same ad on FB. I was so happy, I registered immediately, which is unusual for me, Don't trust the internet. This seemed genuine, I followed my gut. No regrets. Great article, I have some catching up to do.

  • We’re got a lot in common I joined because of Facebook and I also have a mystery suspense novel just waiting to be rewritten well again lol great article Lamar

  • Also see my story review https://vocal.media/journal/sound-of-freedom-c9nd0and

  • C. H. Richard11 months ago

    I joined during the Little Black Challenge too and was shocked that my story which was almost 2000 words over the word count (I estimated) and needed some major corrections didn't win- lol. You are an amazing writer Lamar. I'm so glad we get to read some of your works and I hope you get that screenplay and short story collection published. Your journey on Vocal is so relateable. I totally understand the planning time to write around a full time work schedule. The challenges keep motivated and focused to hit that submit button. Enjoyed this piece. Thank you for the shout out and Congratulations on your top story too 🎊🎉❤️

  • Cathy holmes11 months ago

    Great review, Lamar. I can relate about cringing over some of my earlier work. We all get better as we go on, I think, and you're one of the best. Congrats on your 100th.

  • Cendrine Marrouat11 months ago

    Thank you for sharing your process with us! I look forward to reading all your stories!

  • Gina C.11 months ago

    Oh, Lamar! I enjoyed reading this piece so much! I relate very much to your thoughts about being motivated regarding the challenges, and it was so fun to read your thought process and journey with each of your pieces! I adore having this as a place where you've collected so many of your amazing entries -- there are quite a few that I definitely need to go visit! I admire your work SO MUCH and also admire how you are able to diversify between genres so much; it is something I definitely wish I could do more of! Huge congratulations on 100 stories (and Top Story!)!! Bravo, my friend, and I am so honored that you gave me a shout out 🥹❤️❤️

  • Leslie Writes11 months ago

    Your versatility and quality of you work really shows! Congrats on 100 stories. I must go back and read more of your past works. Thank you so much for including me on your list. The feeling is mutual! 😊

  • Heather Hubler11 months ago

    Lamar, you are by far one of my favorite writers on the platform. You have such unbelievable versatility, and I can feel your joy for writing in every piece. A huge congratulations for reaching the 100 milestone. I look forward to reading whatever you bring next!! Thank you so much for the shout out to me and all of these wonderful creators. This really is an incredibly talented platform. And of course I have always been a huge admirer of Dean's work too :) Congratulations on Top Story for this enjoyable journey of your time on Vocal!

  • Congratulations on your first 100! "This Place" by Dean L. Hardy. Great read.

  • When I saw The Doppelganger, I was like omgggg I remember this mind-blowing story only so scroll down a little more to see I actually said that exact thing on your story, lol! Miranda's Purge will always be one of my favourites because I love Newton so much! Oh I also truly enjoyed 1109 Blackthorn Lane! You didn't mention your story for the Runaway Train challenge. Sorry I can't recall the title but I loved it so much! I also loved Earth Day very much! Back in the day, I wrote a 250-page mystery-thriller novel that sits there waiting until the day I rewrite it. Also, in my portfolio, I wrote a screenplay that I fell in love with called Beautiful Scars, a slasher-thriller about a tattoo artist. My jaw dropped when I read that paragraph. I wanna read those stories! Oh and congratulations on your 100th piece!

  • Dean F. Hardy11 months ago

    Thanks Lamar. This Place, is better with you in it.

  • Your Healthy Reset11 months ago

    Wow great work! Great effort!

  • Your Healthy Reset11 months ago

    Wow great work! Great effort!

  • Barbara Gode Wiles11 months ago

    Excellent synopsis of your time with vocal

  • J. R. Lowe11 months ago

    Great overview of your work, and a nice sprinkle of nostalgia with the past challenges over the last two years haha. Funnily enough, I joined Vocal at the same time as you and for the same reason - the little black book challenge. I’ve also read back over some of my early stories and jeeez some of them need a bit of work, so I relate to your point about that 😂. It’s nice to know we’ve made progress though since joining

  • Babs Iverson11 months ago

    Yeah!!! Loving it!!!❤️❤️💕

  • Raymond G. Taylor11 months ago

    Congratulations Lamar, I was wondering when we would see your story number 100. It was a real pleasure to read. Well done! A well deserved top story June 2023! Looking forward to the next 100 stories

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.