Motivation logo

Capturing Curiosity

A Teacher's Journey in the Bronx

By Muhammad MohsinPublished 7 months ago 4 min read
2

In the heart of the Bronx, where vibrant young minds yearn to express themselves through the lens, I found my calling. Teaching photography to kids has been my passion, and with each class, I've learned just as much as I've imparted. But as I encourage my students to embrace the spontaneity of photography, I can't help but reflect on my own struggles with letting go and shooting from the heart.

Photography, at its essence, is the art of capturing moments that resonate. This is the philosophy I strive to instill in my students. The classroom becomes a sanctuary where they're free to explore their creativity, unburdened by the fear of making mistakes.

"Embrace your curiosity," I tell them. "If something sparks your interest, shoot it. If it stirs an emotion within you, capture it. Photography is about feeling, not fretting."

My goal is simple: to nurture confidence within these young artists, to help them discover their unique voices, and to show them that, in this world, they are free to create without boundaries. In the Bronx, where life can be gritty and challenging, photography offers an escape into a world of imagination and wonder.

But as I watch my students eagerly snap photos with an innocent, unfiltered enthusiasm, I can't help but reflect on my own creative process. For all the encouragement I give, there's a nagging voice inside me, whispering doubts and second-guesses. You see, as a teacher, I'm not immune to the very lessons I impart.

Through the lens of a camera, I have always been the meticulous planner, the one who wants each shot to be perfect, who fears the judgment of others, who scrutinizes every detail to ensure it's just right. Spontaneity, for me, is an elusive muse, and the fear of making mistakes is an ever-present shadow.

It's not that I haven't tried to break free from this self-imposed creative straightjacket. I've stood before breathtaking sunsets, bustling streets, and expressive faces, yearning to capture their essence. But every time, doubt creeps in, and I find myself hesitating.

What if I miss the perfect shot? What if it's not good enough? What if others don't see the beauty in what I see? These questions torment me, echoing my lifelong struggle to trust my creative instincts.

In those moments, I look at my students, young artists unburdened by these anxieties. They don't question the rightness or wrongness of their work; they create from a place of unfiltered authenticity. Their art is not held hostage by the fear of judgment.

Perhaps it's the innocence of youth, the freedom of untamed imaginations, or the resilience found in challenging circumstances that makes them so naturally embrace the essence of photography: capturing emotion and curiosity without overthinking.

As I guide them through the intricacies of light, composition, and storytelling, I'm also on a personal journey of learning to embrace imperfection. Each day, the classroom becomes a sacred space where my students' vitality is a source of inspiration, and my own insecurities serve as a reminder of the need to let go.

There are moments when I muster the courage to be spontaneous, and I've come to realize the beauty in imperfection. I've learned that some of the most captivating images are those that are not overthought but simply felt. It's in the candid laughter of a child, the spontaneous twirl of a dancer, and the raw expressions of life where the true art of photography resides.

Teaching these young photographers in the Bronx is a two-way street. While I impart knowledge, I receive a wealth of wisdom from their unwavering belief in their abilities. They mirror back to me what it means to create without self-imposed restraints.

With their help, I strive to see the world with the same innocence that they do, to capture the beauty in spontaneity, and to appreciate the value of mistakes as part of the creative process. After all, it's in our missteps that we find some of the most profound insights, both in life and in art.

In the Bronx, where dreams often face the harsh realities of life, the camera becomes a powerful tool for self-expression. It provides my students with a voice, a sanctuary where they can translate their feelings, their curiosity, and their emotions into art.

As I watch them flourish, I am reminded that I, too, can be free from the self-doubt that has hindered my creative journey. Together, we discover the joy of living in the moment, unburdened by the fear of imperfection, and find solace in the beauty of spontaneity.

In the Bronx, I teach photography, but in the process, I'm also a student of life and creativity. My students have taught me that sometimes, the most profound lessons come from those who are brave enough to shoot from the heart, unburdened by the fear of making mistakes.

successself helphealinghappinessgoalsadvice
2

About the Creator

Muhammad Mohsin

I'm a writer weaving words into worlds, an artist, singer, poet, storyteller and dreamer. Let's explore new dimensions together through the power of storytelling

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Test7 months ago

    Your students are not only learning photography but also the art of embracing imperfection and spontaneity. Your journey is truly inspiring."

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.