Motivation logo

Can a dream foretell our future?

There is now scant scientific proof that dreams can foretell the future. According to certain studies, certain dream forms may be able to foretell the onset of disease or mental decline.

By kesavPublished about a year ago 3 min read
1
Can a dream foretell our future?
Photo by carolyn christine on Unsplash

There has been a lot written on the meanings or purposes of dreams. Ever since the first dreamer awoke and pondered the meaning of their visions, mankind has been fascinated with dreams. We have used our dreams as a source of prophecy since the dawn of humanity. In 4000 BC, the earliest recorded dreams were written down. The oldest works about dreams that we have are mostly religious and spiritual texts.

The average person will sleep for around one-third of their lifetime. Even though our dreams are a genuine part of who we are, they are often ignored. Our personal life can be better understood and shown through our dreams. They will aid in our understanding of the past, the present, and occasionally the future. All we have to do is pay attention to and get to know our dreams.

Dreams might contain a warning for the future :

We all experience various kinds of dreams. Images from our most urgent thoughts and/or personal experiences frequently appear in our dreams. But occasionally, a dream might be something extraordinary. If we let them, our dreams can communicate with us. We only need to listen.

I think there are primarily two categories of prophetic dreams.

Those that come to us from our "deeper" self, who is much more aware of some things than we are on a conscious level, and those that might have possibly originated from an "outside" source.

Here's an illustration from one of my own dreams:

I had a death dream. In the dream, the only thing I could recall was seeing a hand lying in some gravel. The ring on the hand was what caught the most attention. My ring was in it. I was positive that I knew what it was. Even though this was the only scene from the nightmare I could remember, I knew it involved a fatal accident. I woke up with a strong sense of it. The details of the dream were almost completely lost, but the feelings were still clear.

The ring was fashioned like a class ring but actually an Army Boot Camp ring. Never again did I wear it after having the dream. At some point, I sold it to a friend of mine who had also gone to boot camp. I got a call a few years later. It had been a murder of my pal. He was discovered with that ring on his hand while lying among some rocks and dirt.

Did my dream foretell this happening? It's a possibility, in my opinion. What message was the dream trying to get through to me? I had thought the dream was about my passing away. I also believed that the ring had some connection to my demise. I stopped wearing the ring, hoping to avert the predicted demise. Maybe the dream was just telling me that my friend will pass away wearing the ring.

Every time we experience a dream that seems prophetic or to have a "meaning," we have the challenging chore of figuring out exactly what the dream signifies. Most frequently, dream symbols have extremely clear meanings, yet these meanings might differ greatly from person to person. Because of this, we should not place too much reliance on definitions found in dream symbol dictionaries.

We must gain a better and deeper awareness of ourselves in order to comprehend the significance of the symbols included in our own dreams. Because our dreaming mind interprets these symbols in that way, we must learn what they represent to us.

Whatever you see in your dream could be a symbol. A snake is an illustration of a dream symbol. For many people, a snake can mean many different things. They can also have a different significance for the same person at different points throughout their life, just like all other dream symbols can. You must also consider the symbol in light of the environment in which it was used. What other images did the dream contain?

Create your own dream symbol dictionary for the fullest understanding of what your dream symbols mean to you. Keep a dream notebook that is as thorough as you can. Don't just describe what happened; also include your sentiments and emotions in your writing. You will start to find connections between your dreams and your life as you keep writing in your journal and going back through earlier entries. You will eventually be able to understand what the symbols in your dreams are actually trying to communicate to you.

self helpsuccessgoals
1

About the Creator

kesav

Hey there! I'm a story and article writer. I love to write about anything and everything. I'm always looking for new ideas and new ways to tell a story. I hope you enjoy my work!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • John Wimsatt about a year ago

    Yes dreams have always played an important in our daily lives if we listen and remember them.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.