Motivation logo

Beginner's guide to the gym

Do you want to go to the gym, but don't know how to start and what to do? Then this article is for you!

By Jurre SmitPublished 2 months ago 4 min read
1
You when you are new to the gym

You are here because you want to go to the gym. The problem is, you don't know what to do. I get that because I have experienced it myself. Most beginners feel pretty insecure when they first go to the gym. They have a lot of questions. Where do I start? How does this machine work? What should I train? Is everyone staring at me right now? In this guide, I will give you tips and advice on how to go to the gym. I will do that based on my own experience so I know what I'm talking about.

1. The first step

The first question you may have is: 'Should I go to the gym?'. I would definitely say: 'It's worth it!'. The gym is a place where many like-minded people are. People in the gym are busy with their own workout so don't expect them to stare at you or even laugh at you. If you are now training at home then that is obviously great, but I discovered that there are so many facilities you can work with in the gym.

Furthermore, there are many positive things you can get from the gym. Obviously, you will see results in your body and condition if you train consistently. Your mental health starts to improve. There are many other like-minded people so you can get good social connections. You will create a good routine if you go consistently and it can be the start of other improvements in your life like eating healthy and creating discipline.

Positive consequences from going to the gym

2. Which gym is right for me?

The second decision you have to make is to which gym you go. My advice is to ask people around you (like friends and family) who go to a gym and ask them if the gym is good or not. You can also go to gyms in your area by yourself and ask for a tour of the gym. Then you can determine for yourself if the gym feels right or not. I would say do not go to a gym that is always busy because you do not want all the machines to be used all the time.

3. Which training program should I use?

A training program that suits you is very important. You do not want to hop over from one machine to another. You want a strict routine that you can do every week because then you can reach your goals faster. I recommend using the internet (not everything on the internet is right) or asking someone who works at the gym for advice.

I have used the internet for my training program. I saw the YouTube video from this YouTuber, and he explained very well which program good for beginners is. He said that for beginners an upper-lower-upper-lower program perfect for beginners is. That means that on the first day, you train your upper body, on the second day your lower body, etc. I have been using this program for almost 6 months now. I made some changes to the original program because I wanted to train other muscles more and it works very well. Instead of the second lower body day, I am now doing a core/forearm/traps day. I have also added one day and that is a full body day.

My program is as follows:

1. Monday upper body

2. Tuesday lower body

3. Wednesday rest

4. Thursday upper body

5. Friday core-traps-forearm day

6. Saturday/Sunday full body

4. The First day

  1. When you take your first step into the gym you might be nervous, and that is completely normal. You see all those guys with big muscles and you as a newbie are trying to work on your body and condition. The funny part of this is that THEY DO NOT CARE! So go your own way and believe me when I say that those first steps are the steps into a beautiful journey.
  2. When you are going to the gym do not show up in a pair of jeans and a button-up shirt or whatever. Put on a comfortable sports set that you can sweat in.
  3. If all the machines and equipment are new to you, I advise you to just experiment and look around you. For example, you can just walk up to a machine and figure out how it works. When you use that machine, you can also look around at how others use machines. You can of course also search the internet or ask people who work there. Sometimes there is also a picture on the machine that explains how to use the machine.
  4. If you have a friend who already goes to that gym then go with him/her. He/she maybe can give you some tips. However, I would also advise going sometimes alone because otherwise you will become dependent on him/ her and may go to the gym inconsistently.

Bonus tip

Lastly, I will say something that is important in all kinds of things you do in life. From reading a book to swimming in the sea, and with the gym it is no different. What I want to say is: enjoy the journey. Enjoy the process and the progress. Enjoy that you go until failure every time. Treat yourself to a delicious high-protein meal after exercise. Enjoy talking with new people in the gym. Set new challenges that you can accomplish. I am sure that you will grow from now on. Physically but also mentally. Welcome to a new part of your life!

If you liked this story, you can always leave a ❤. If you really want to support me, you can also give me a tip. I really appreciate your support!

self helphow tohappinessgoalsadvice
1

About the Creator

Jurre Smit

Just a 16-year-old who wants to make something of his life :)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.