Motivation logo

Are Things Prettier in Pink?

Let's all put on our heart-shaped sunglasses.

By Amanda DoylePublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like
Photo by Jared Erondu

Positive versus negative. Who would win in a fight?

I spend a lot of my life thinking about energies in the world and the emotions that we're surrounding ourselves with. Someone who is depressed might be surrounded by dark emotions on dark days, but they're capable of all the positive emotions too.

I've been thinking about relationships. When it comes to love, should I be a realist or can I get away with living my whole relationship through rose-coloured glasses? Don't get me wrong, it's good to be realistic. If you're in some kind of situation where the ball could drop at any second, you should be prepared and ready for the worst, if it happens. But could thinking about the worst case scenario will it into existence?

Think of it like this: when you're preparing for the worst to happen, you're throwing that energy out into the universe. We're throwing energy into the universe constantly, depending on our attitudes and reactions. If you believe in karma, everything that you put out there will eventually come back to you. So when I imagine a tornado wiping out my city, I'm putting out the negative. Does that make it come true?

No, it doesn't. Obviously, I'm not a psychic. But the more that I think about bad things, the more negative energy I'm creating and surrounding myself with. This is the perfect path for bad things to happen, bred by our own insecurity.

Back to relationships. I have an absolutely wonderful boyfriend. I want it to last forever, so when I think about the future, I imagine this relationship lasting in hopes that I can manifest this reality. I believe that we can create the kind of atmosphere that we want to live in. So while I do everything I can to be a good girlfriend, I also try to see my relationship in a positive light and not think about an end.

So my dilemma is this—I can be a realist, and realize that this relationship could very well end one day and I can be heartbroken over the possibility; or I could live my life through rose coloured glasses and see the situation for the good that it holds. Instead of thinking about the possible end, I'd spend all of that thought power on the positive.

But can this lead to denial? Am I living in a fantasy land?

You need to use your own judgement. If you're in a situation that is bad for you, maybe it's time to take a step back and re-evaluate where you'd like to go from here. But when you're in a good place, or trying to get to a good place, choosing to see the positive in all situations will create and attract positivity into your life.

I think that the world is better with love. Not just to the people we're romantically involved with, but the kind of love that can spread over nations and fill people with light. So I choose to keep my heart-shaped sunglasses on. I would rather believe in the good than be bogged down by the reality of life and the sadness it can bring. If my attitude and mindset aren't hurting anyone, can I believe in whatever I want?

The reality is that we can't prove that thinking one way or another can change the outcome of a situation. But we can try to make things better for ourselves. Think about this as you move through your day. Embrace the light that you hold inside of you. Maybe it's just more enjoyable to see life in pink.

happiness
Like

About the Creator

Amanda Doyle

Currently in my "figuring it the hell out" era.

Big believer in everything happening for a reason, second chances, and the fact that we're living in a simulation.

Check out my podcast: https://podcasters.spotify.com/pod/show/semimindfulbanter

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.